Georgia Southern Scholars

Datasets

Datasets are structured collections of data generally associated with a research project or a body of research. GS Scholars supports one type of dataset record.

Add or Update a Record for a Dataset

To add or update a record, follow these instructions:

• Create a New Record or Open an Existing Record
  Follow these instructions to create a new record or open an existing record.
• Update the Available Updates Tab
  Follow these instructions if you open an existing record and the Available Updates tab displays.
• Update the Metadata Tab
  For the Metadata tab, complete the following sections:
  • Metadata Tab: Identification
    For the Identification section, complete the following required and optional fields:
    • Title (required)
      In the Title field, enter the title of the dataset.
      
    • Description
      In the Description field, enter a brief description of the dataset.
      
    • Date of Data Production
      In the Date of Data Production field, select either Specific date or Period of time if either is applicable. Otherwise, select Not set. For the Specific date and Period of time options, enter the date(s) during which the data was produced. In either case, only the start year is required.

      

      

  • Metadata Tab: People
    For the People section, add the names of any people or organizations involved in the creation of the dataset. To add a person, click Add person… and either search for another current faculty member (i.e., internal person) or add an external person. Assign the role the person played in the dataset's creation.
    
    To add an organization, click Add organizational unit... and search for or create the organization. If the organization does not appear in the search results, click Create external organization and complete the fields. The GS Commons Team will update the organization if needed. Use the Up and Down arrows to arrange people and organizations as appropriate.
  • Metadata Tab: Dataset managed by
    Follow these instructions to update the Dataset managed by section.
  • Metadata Tab: Data Availability
    For the Data Availability section, complete the following required and optional fields:
    • Publisher (required)
      Follow these instructions to update the Publisher field.
    • DOI (Digital Object Identifier)
      In the DOI (Digital Object Identifier) field, if the dataset has a registered DOI, click Add existing DOI, enter the non-URL form of the DOI into the field (e.g., 10.1000/182), then click Save.
    • Physical Data
      In the Physical Data field, click Add details of physical data... if the dataset includes physical data. Add the following details as appropriate:
      • Title/Description (required)
        In the Title/Description field, enter a title or description for the physical data.
      • Storage Location (required)
        In the Storage Location field, enter the storage location of the physical data.
      • Access Description
        In the Access Description field, enter the method of access for the physical data.
      • Media (required)
        In the Media field, enter the media of the physical data.
      • Type
        In the Type field, select the type of the physical data form the dropdown menu. If the dropdown does not include an appropriate type, then contact the GS Commons Team at digitalcommons@georgiasouthern.edu.
    • Links
      In the Links field, click Add link... and complete the fields to add any URLs relevant to the dataset.
    • Date Made Available (required)
      In the Date Made Available field, enter the date that the dataset was published or made available.
      
  • Metadata Tab: Access and Compliance
    For the Access and Compliance section, complete the following optional fields:
    • Access Options
      In the Access Options field, select the option that best describes the dataset's current availability.
      
      If Embargoed is selected, enter the Embargo period if known.
      
    • License
      In the License field, select the reuse license assigned to the dataset if known.
      
  • Metadata Tab: Access Contact Details
    For the Access Contact Details section, complete the following optional field:
    • Contact Person
      In the Contact Person field, enter a contact person responsible for mediating access to the dataset if appropriate. By default, the first data manager listed on the record will be suggested as the contact person.
  • Metadata Tab: Temporal Coverage
    For the Temporal Coverage section, complete the following optional field:
    • Temporal Coverage
      In the Temporal Coverage field, enter the inclusive time range covered by any temporal data included in the dataset. For example, enter the years 1993 and 2011 for a dataset including separate data tables for records collected from 1993 to 1995 and records collected from 2009 to 2011. Enter Common Era (CE) years only.
      
  • Metadata Tab: Geo Location
    For the Geo Location section, complete the following optional fields:
    • Geographical Coverage
      In the Geographical Coverage field, provide a brief narrative description of the geographical location to which the dataset relates.
    • Geospatial Point
      In the Geospatial Point field, enter the geospatial point or polygon corresponding to the geographical location to which the dataset relates.
  • Metadata Tab: Keywords
    Follow these instructions to update the Keywords section.
  • Metadata Tab: Funding
    Follow these instructions to update the Funding section.
  • Metadata Tab: Relations
    Follow these instructions to update the Relations section.
  • Metadata Tab: Visibility
    Follow these instructions to update the Visibility section.
• Review the Relations Tab
  Follow these instructions to review the Relations tab.
• Update the Fingerprints Tab
  Follow these instructions to update the Fingerprints tab.

For help, contact the GS Commons Team at digitalcommons@georgiasouthern.edu. A team member will respond as soon as possible during regular business hours.