Library Guides: No Cost Low Cost Options for Courses: Locating OER Resources

OASIS - By SUNY

OASIS offers more than 155,000+ records from 52 different sources that have been carefully selected in collaboration with SUNY OER Services. Some of the features of OASIS include the ability to limit search results by license, type, subject, source, and reviews available. Through OASIS, you can also suggest new sources to be added to the catalog and/or share items of interest through email. Here is the Press Release on OASIS.

OER Sites for Textbooks & Educational Materials

Boundless offers openly licensed, high-quality, customizable digital courseware at a fraction of the cost of traditional textbooks.
Climate Education Hub This Hub is designed to be a library of educational resources about climate change and intersectional topics. The key element of these materials is that they are available under a copyright license that allows for free sharing and customization - providing more equitable access to students and heavily impacted communities around the world, as well as unlocking the power of educators to add cultural relevancy and local context - ultimately allowing more people to more deeply interact and collaborate with the material and issues we face.
Florida State Open Publishing Florida State Open Publishing provides publishing services for journals, monographs, open educational resources, and digital scholarship projects. We consult on a variety of scholarly publishing topics and digital research tools and methodologies.
HathiTrust Digital Library HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
HBCU Affordable Learning $olutions Resource Center With the essential support from the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation, the California State University Long Beach, MERLOT (www.merlot.org) and SkillsCommons (www.skillscommons.org), the collaboration and community of Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) are designing and deploying strategies to make college more affordable by reducing the cost of course materials.
Humanities Commons Welcome to Humanities Commons, the network for people working in the humanities. Discover the latest open-access scholarship and teaching materials, make interdisciplinary connections, build a WordPress Web site, and increase the impact of your work by sharing it in the repository. Brought to you by the MLA.
LibreTexts The LibreTexts mission is to unite students, faculty and scholars in a cooperative effort to develop an easy-to-use online platform for the construction, customization, and dissemination of open educational resources (OER) to reduce the burdens of unreasonable textbook costs to our students and society.
Mason OER Metafinder (MOM) The Mason OER Metafinder helps you find Open Educational Resources. Unlike other OER discovery sites (e.g, OER Commons, OASIS, MERLOT, OpenStax, etc.) with our Metafinder you aren’t searching a static database that we’ve built. Instead, the OER Metafinder launches a real-time, simultaneous search across 21 different sources of open educational materials as you hit the Search button.
MERLOT MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
OAPEN Online library and publication platform: OAPEN promotes and supports the transition to open access for academic books by providing open infrastructure services to stakeholders in scholarly communication. We work with publishers to build a quality-controlled collection of open access books and provide services for publishers, libraries, and research funders in the areas of hosting, deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.
OER Commons OER Commons offers a comprehensive infrastructure for curriculum experts and instructors at all levels to identify high-quality OER and collaborate around their adaptation, evaluation, and use to address the needs of teachers and learners.
OER Degree Initiative Catalog This catalog contains openly-licensed course materials developed for the Open Educational Resources (OER) Degree Initiative, led by Achieving the Dream.
Open Education Network (formerly Open Textbook Library) Active community of higher education leaders that works together to build sustainable open education programs. Includes access to The Open Textbook Library which provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks.
Open Oregon Open Oregon Educational Resources promotes textbook affordability for community college and university students, and facilitates widespread adoption of open, low-cost, high-quality materials.
Open Research Library The Open Research Library (ORL) is planned to include all Open Access book content worldwide on one platform for user-friendly discovery, offering a seamless experience navigating more than 20,000 Open Access books. This vital infrastructure is slated to comprise the most comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed Open Access books accessible for everyone.
OpenStax OpenStax is a nonprofit based at Rice University, and it’s our mission to improve student access to education.
OpenVerse Browse through over 600 million items to reuse. All Openverse content is under a Creative Commons license or is in the public domain.
Pressbooks Directory This directory provides an index of 2293 books published across 95 Pressbooks networks.
Qubes Open Educational Practices (OEP) are the basis of the QUBES community. OEP communities are built around a shared interest and desire to continuously improve and share resources and tools.
Textbook Go TextBookGo.com is your number one source for free etextbooks. We bring you free digital textbooks from all sources and for all courses! We offer free etextbooks for many subject categories and for all tablet and digital textbook viewing devices.
University of Minnesota Publishing The University of Minnesota Libraries publishes journals, monographs, textbooks, and other scholarly content. All titles are accessible from this page. Unless otherwise noted our content is released under a Creative Commons license and is free to download, share, and reuse.

Resources for Consideration

FeedSpot Use FeedSpot to add RSS feed and other news items on your topic
Kahn Academy How can Khan Academy be used for remote learning during school closures?
Laboratory Resources Spread Sheet of lab resources available
Spreadsheet Tracking Commercial OER Platforms A crowd sourced tool for sharing information and assessing products. Originally created by Abbey Elder, Iowa State University