Library Guides: No Cost Low Cost Options for Courses: English Literature, Writing, & Linguistics

OER in English Literature, Writing and Linguistics

The Anthology of World Literature 1650-present By engaging with this resource which presents texts by diverse world writers from 1650 to the present, learners will: (1) engage with diverse world writers in translation, including canonical and less canonical texts, and (2) identify literary conventions and trends across genres. The texts are in chronological order, but can be adapted by the faculty in whatever way they see fit. Each text is introduced with a brief discussion of author, original language and time period, and the literary conventions the students can expect to see in the text.
Becoming America: An Exploration of American Literature from Precolonial to Post-Revolution
Brehe's Grammar Anatomy
British Literature I: Middle Ages to the Eighteenth Century and Neoclassicism
British Literature II: Romantic Era to the Twentieth Century and Beyond
College ESL Writers: Applied Grammar and Composing Strategies for Success
Compact Anthology of World Literature
Compact Anthology of World Literature II: Volumes 4, 5, and 6
Composition 1: Introduction to Academic Writing Composition 1: Introduction to Academic Writing was created with the intention of providing a free, comprehensive Composition 1 textbook to the students of Connors State College in Oklahoma. This textbook is a compilation of several OER textbooks and resources with edits, revisions, and additions provided by Brittany Seay.
English Composition This OER textbook has been designed for students to learn the foundational concepts for English 100 (first-year college composition). The content aligns to learning outcomes across all campuses in the University of Hawai'i system. It was designed, written, and edited during a three day book sprint in May, 2019.
Entering the Conversation
The Gordon State College Writing Handbook
A Guide to Rhetoric, Genre, and Success in First-Year Writing
Introduction to College Writing
Introduction to World Literature Anthology The texts contained in this anthology each perform a particular purpose and represent an aspect of the rich cultures that populate our world. By attending to the cultural significance of literary texts from around the world and connecting them via a unifying theme, we can begin to identify cultural similarities that make the world a more dynamic and interesting place to live. This anthology seeks to show the unity of world literature through a form of radical familiarity, while at the same time preserving and admiring the different cultures from which the literature was produced.
Korean Through Folktales
Literature, the Humanities, and Humanity
Literature, the Humanities, and Humanity
My Slipper Floated Away My Slipper Floated Away is an anthology of fresh, compelling essays written by students at Lehman College in the Bronx. The writers are immigrants or the children of immigrants and/or POC.
Naming the Unnameable: An Approach to Poetry for New Generations
Open Anthology of Earlier American Literature
Open Anthology of Early World Literature in English Translation
Open English @ SLCC
Oregon Writes Open Writing Text This textbook guides students through rhetorical and assignment analysis, the writing process, researching, citing, rhetorical modes, and critical reading. Guided by Oregon's statewide college writing outcomes, this book collects previously published articles, essays, and chapters released under Creative Commons licenses into one free textbook available for online access or print-on-demand. Faculty guide available: https://canvas.instructure.com/courses/1035227Order a print copy: http://www.lulu.com/shop/jenn-kepka/oregon-writes-open-writing-text/paperback/product-23840147.html
Reframing Digital Humanities: Conversations with Digital Humanists
The Roadrunner's Guide to English (2nd Edition) This online book is designed to help students learn the skills they will need to do well in college-level classes. Some courses will focus on writing, some on reading, and some on a combination of the two; this book is designed to work with all of those classes.
Sexy Technical Communication, 2nd Edition Open Technical Communication is a freely available, open sourced technical communication textbook developed under a Round 13 Textbook Transformation Grant and updated through several follow-up grants in later rounds of grants offered by Affordable Learning Georgia. It is a remix of the open-sourced Online Technical Communication textbook by David McMurrey, and it has been known under its original title, Sexy Technical Communication as well as it's current title: Open Technical Communication. The resources attached to this textbook are collaboratively created by the original group of authors as well as a collection of technical communication faculty and student assistants at Kennesaw State University.
Successful College Composition (3rd Edition)
Teaching Autoethnography: Personal Writing in the Classroom
Technical Writing Essentials This open textbook is designed to introduce readers to the basics of technical communication: audience and task analysis in workplace contexts, clear and concise communications style, effective document design, teamwork and collaboration, and fundamental research skills.
Tiny Tales from Aesop Aesop was a legendary storyteller of ancient Greece, and the stories called "Aesop's fables" have been going strong for three thousand years. This book contains a selection of classical, medieval, Renaissance, and modern Aesop's fables, ranging from the ancient Roman poet Phaedrus to the 18th-century neo-Latin poet Desbillons. You will find famous fables here such as "The Lion's Share" and "The Boy Who Cried Wolf," plus many not-so-famous fables about animals, about people, and about the gods and goddesses too. The fables included here represent only a small fraction of the Aesopic fable tradition.
The Word on College Reading and Writing Written by five college reading and writing instructors, this interactive, multimedia text draws from decades of experience teaching students who are entering the college reading and writing environment for the very first time. It includes examples, exercises, and definitions for just about every reading- and writing-related topic students will encounter in their college courses.
World Mythology A deep exploration of the fundamental symbols, ceremonies, rituals, and transformative narratives of the world's great wisdom traditions and mythological systems. With special attention paid to their relevance to the modern world.
World Mythology, Volume 1: Gods and Creation
World Mythology, Volume 2: Heroic Mythology
Write Here, Right Now: An Interactive Introduction to Academic Writing and Research Write Here, Right Now: An interactive Introduction to Academic Writing and Research utilizes PressBooks to create and host a writing e-textbook for first year university students that would effectively integrate into the flipped classroom model. The textbook could also be used for non-flipped classroom designs, as the embedded videos, diagrams and linked modules would act as an all-in-one multimedia textbook geared towards multiple learning styles and disciplines. The components of the textbook, including the embedded videos, could be swapped in and out in order to accommodate a professor’s best idea of his/her own course design.
Write What Matters Have you ever wished for a comprehensive source that would steer you in the right direction through all of your reading and writing assignments? This text aims to be that kind of guide. We included lessons, examples, exercises, and definitions for many of the reading and writing-related situations that you will encounter in your first-year writing courses as well as other subject-specific classes that require writing.
Writing Arguments in STEM The focus of this collection is on communication and argumentation in STEM fields. Students and instructors will find chapters on stasis theory, reasoning, elements of argument, information literacy, research writing in academic disciplines, data visualization, writing for STEM audiences, and specific genre conventions. This collection can be used in argumentation, writing, communication, and tech writing courses.
Writing Guide with Handbook Writing Guide with Handbook aligns to the goals, topics, and objectives of many first-year writing and composition courses. It is organized according to relevant genres, and focuses on the writing process, effective writing practices or strategies—including graphic organizers, writing frames, and word banks to support visual learning—and conventions of usage and style. The text includes an editing and documentation handbook, which provides information on grammar and mechanics, common usage errors, and citation styles.
Writing in College Subtitle:From Competence to Excellence Writing in College: From Competence to Excellence is designed for students who have largely mastered the conventions of high-school level writing and are now rising to meet more the advanced expectations of college. Students will find in Writing in College a warm invitation to think of themselves as full, self-motivated members of the academic community. With concise explanations, clear multi-disciplinary examples and empathy for the challenges of student life, this short textbook both explains the purposes behind college-level writing and offers indispensable advice for organization and expression.
Writing Unleashed Welcome to Writing Unleashed, designed for use as a textbook in first-year college composition programs, written as an extremely brief guide for students, jam-packed with teachers’ voices, students’ voices, and engineered for fun.