Step by step, students get real engineering data and scenario examples along with chapter-long case studies that illustrate concepts in realistic, thoroughly detailed situations. This approach encourages students to work through the material by carrying out data collection and analysis projects from problem formulation through the preparation of professional technical reports—just as if they were on the job.
Chemical Engineering Separations: A Handbook for Students is intended for use by undergraduate students who are taking a course in chemical engineering separations. The handbook assumes that students have taken one or two semesters of chemical engineering thermodynamics, one semester of heat and mass transfer, and one semester of computational methods for chemical engineering.
This textbook provides an introduction to the MATLAB programming language for first-year mechanical engineering students enrolled in ME 160. Designed to follow the content taught in class, this book provides a supplement to in-class learning that is presented at a level that is understandable to a student with no experience coding before coming to Iowa State University.
Full Course including:
61 focused lessons—from "Hello, world" to graph recursion
Learn Java or Kotlin
902 editable and runnable code examples
2,416 interactive explanations from 259 instructors, including 167 hours of live coding walkthroughs
132 programming problems covering all core language features
384,583 debugging challenges that train you to fix small mistakes
A community of learners to reach out to for support
One goal: Teaching you about computer science and programming!
We'll teach you the basics of computer science and programming. Once you know these things, you can and will change the world.
A collection of readings and exercises aligned with the course, ME 270, Introduction to Mechanical Engineering Design, at Iowa State University. This course provides an overview of mechanical engineering design with applications to thermal and mechanical systems, and an introduction to current design practices used in industry.
This text serves to provide a brief overview of some of the myriad of topics available for study in the field of Materials Science. This is by no means a comprehensive compilation of Materials Science and Engineering topics but is instead meant as an introduction to the topic for entry-level undergraduates who want to pursue a career studying materials.
The Mechanics Map Digital Textbook Project is an open digital textbook founded on the idea that expert generated concept maps can serve as a powerful advance organizer for textbook content. The overview at the beginning of each chapter consists of a video showing how all the topics in the chapter are linked together by the author. By providing this overview, the author is seeking to help users organize the knowledge they are developing in a way that matches the expert's organization of knowledge.
new online resource that provides links to open textbooks in the engineering field. This resource aggregates information from around twenty different open educational resource websites and organizes it by engineering discipline and, in some cases, by subdiscipline. To keep the scope manageable, we have presently limited it to open textbooks, although it is possible that we will add other types of open resources as time goes on.
Discrete-event simulation is an important tool for the modeling of complex systems. Simulation is used to represent manufacturing, transportation, and service systems in a computer program to perform experiments on a computer. Simulation modeling involves elements of system modeling, computer programming, probability and statistics, and engineering design. Simulation Modeling and Arena, by Dr. Manuel Rossetti, is an introductory textbook for a first course in discrete-event simulation modeling and analysis for upper-level undergraduate students as well as entering graduate students. The text is focused on engineering students (primarily industrial engineering); however, the text is also appropriate for advanced business majors, computer science majors, and other disciplines where simulation is practiced. Practitioners interested in learning simulation and Arena could also use this book independently of a course.