No Cost Low Cost Options for Courses
Using Open Educational Resources (OER) and other options for Educational Materials for Saving Students Money
- Open Educational Resources (OER)
- What are OER Resources?Toggle Dropdown
- Using Library Resources
- Locating OER Resources
- OpenALG
- Academic Success
- Anthropology
- Arts and Culture
- Business/Economics & Accounting
- ChemistryBioChemistry
- Communications/Public Speaking
- Criminal Justice
- Design/Graphic
- Education
- Engineering/Computer Science
- English Literature, Writing, & Linguistics
- Gender Studies
- Geology/Geography
- Gov. Information This link opens in a new window
- HDFS
- Health/Medical
- History
- Images and More
- Information Literacy
- Inclusion and Diversity
- Language
- Life/Natural Science
- Logistics
- Marketing
- Mathematics
- Music
- Nursing & Allied Health
- Physics
- Political Science
- Psychology
- Religious Studies
- Sociology
- Misc.
- Artificial Intelligence
- Adopting/Adapting/Creating
- A.I. and OER
- Evaluating OER
- OER Grants
- OER Scholarship
- OER in Tenure and Promotion
- Open Education Week!
- Need Help?
- Georgia Southern OER Student Survey Results
- Georgia Southern OER Faculty Survey Results
- Test Your Knowledge
OER in Biological Sciences
- BioInteractive Our stories anchor a variety of classroom resources based on peer-reviewed science. From data-rich activities and case studies to high-quality videos and interactive media, our resources are designed to connect students to big ideas in biology, promote engagement with science practices, and instill awe and wonder about the living world.
- Biology 2-e Biology 2e is designed to cover the scope and sequence requirements of a typical two-semester biology course for science majors. The text provides comprehensive coverage of foundational research and core biology concepts through an evolutionary lens. Biology includes rich features that engage students in scientific inquiry, highlight careers in the biological sciences, and offer everyday applications. The book also includes various types of practice and homework questions that help students understand—and apply—key concepts.
- Climate Justice in Your Classroom As the inequitable impacts of climate change become more evident and destructive, it is essential for climate and environmental justice, as well as methods of civic engagement, to be taught at a high-level to college-level students. This book provides real examples of how professors at the University of Washington integrated these critical issues into their teachings, both in targeted lessons and as throughlines across an entire course.
- Comparative Vertebrate Physiology Lab Manual A unique attribute of the manual is that it is highly adaptable, suitable for nearly any CVP lab course, using any textbook or no text. Also, the experiments themselves can be adapted to suit nearly any environment in which the course is taught. The materials and equipment needed are inexpensive for the most part, and commonly available in university departments of biology. The students themselves often acted as test subjects. Many of the exercises can be completed with very little expenditure of departmental funds, some are practically cost-free.
- Concepts of Biology Concepts of Biology is designed for the typical introductory biology course for nonmajors, covering standard scope and sequence requirements. The text includes interesting applications and conveys the major themes of biology, with content that is meaningful and easy to understand. The book is designed to demonstrate biology concepts and to promote scientific literacy.
- Crop Genetics This book provides an introduction to the genetic concepts of reproductive systems, recombination, mutation, segregation and linkage analysis, inbreeding, quantitative inheritance, fertility regulation, population genetics and polyploidy.
- The Culture of Science This casebook opens up modes of inquiry into Western knowledge foundations, asking students to embrace epistemological uncertainty as a productive means of developing critical thinking skills.
- Genetics, Agriculture, and Biotechnology provides an introduction to plant genetics and biotechnology for the advancement of agriculture. A clear and structured introduction to the topic for learners new to the field of genetics, the book includes: an introduction to the life cycle of the cell, DNA and how it relates to genes and chromosomes, DNA analysis, recombinant DNA, biotechnology, and transmission genetics.
- An Interactive Introduction to Organismal and Molecular Biology
- Introduction to Environmental Sciences and Sustainability Introduction to Environmental Sciences and Sustainability is a college-level Open Educational Resource (OER) that focuses on the most relevant environmental science issues and addresses ways to incorporate sustainable practices. This resource is targeted at environmental science students.
- Microbiology Microbiology covers the scope and sequence requirements for a single-semester microbiology course for non-majors. The book presents the core concepts of microbiology with a focus on applications for careers in allied health. The pedagogical features of the text make the material interesting and accessible while maintaining the career-application focus and scientific rigor inherent in the subject matter. Microbiology’s art program enhances students’ understanding of concepts through clear and effective illustrations, diagrams, and photographs. Microbiology is produced through a collaborative publishing agreement between OpenStax and the American Society for Microbiology Press. The book aligns with the curriculum guidelines of the American Society for Microbiology.
- Molecular Plant Breeding This book focuses on genomics and plant biotechnology approaches used in plant breeding, the analysis of genomic data, and their application in quality control measures. The application of alternative genomic technologies to enhance conventional breeding strategies is also presented.
- PhET Interactive Simulations Simulations that may be able to substitute for some lab work. Allows for searching on undergraduate, undergraduate advanced, and graduate level simulations. Biology, Chemistry, Earth Science, Mathematics, Physics
- Soils Laboratory Manual The Soils Laboratory Manual is an open-source, open access laboratory manual designed for introductory, undergraduate soil science courses.
- A Student's Guide to Tropical Marine Biology by Keene State College Students, BIO 381 Tropical Marine Biology
- Technical Writing Essentials This open textbook is designed to introduce readers to the basics of technical communication: audience and task analysis in workplace contexts, clear and concise communications style, effective document design, teamwork and collaboration, and fundamental research skills.
- Tutorials: Introduction to Renewable Resources These tutorials focused on questions relevant to students’ lives and allowed the students to learn in a fun and interactive way. They included some interesting and surprising facts that hopefully inspired students to learn more about environmental issues and sustainability. They also provided up-to-date information which is especially important in the rapidly changing field of natural resource management.
- WeBWork WeBWorK is an open-source online homework system for math and sciences courses. WeBWorK is supported by the MAA and the NSF and comes with a National Problem Library (NPL) of over 20,000 homework problems.
- Writing Arguments in STEM The focus of this collection is on communication and argumentation in STEM fields. Students and instructors will find chapters on stasis theory, reasoning, elements of argument, information literacy, research writing in academic disciplines, data visualization, writing for STEM audiences, and specific genre conventions. This collection can be used in argumentation, writing, communication, and tech writing courses.
Models, Simulations, Games
- BioInteractive Our stories anchor a variety of classroom resources based on peer-reviewed science. From data-rich activities and case studies to high-quality videos and interactive media, our resources are designed to connect students to big ideas in biology, promote engagement with science practices, and instill awe and wonder about the living world.
- Genetics Science Learning Center Genetics website has provided engaging, multimedia educational materials at no cost.
- LabXChange Created at Harvard University with support from the Amgen Foundation, this powerful digital tool makes high-quality science education accessible and gives learners and educators, everywhere, the courage to chart a meaningful path in science—for free.
- PhET Interactive Simulations Simulations that may be able to substitute for some lab work. Allows for searching on undergraduate, undergraduate advanced, and graduate level simulations. Biology, Chemistry, Earth Science, Mathematics, Physics
- Virtual Labs highlighted by Merlot Looking for free and low-cost multimedia course materials in STEM that engage students through active participation rather than passive observation? MERLOT, the California State University, and other partners have joined together to provide you a "one-stop shop" for free and low-cost online virtual labs.
Not OER But Free
- Fashion has a pollution problem -- can biology fix it? Natsai Audrey Chieza is a designer on a mission -- to reduce pollution in the fashion industry while creating amazing new things to wear. In her lab, she noticed that the bacteria Streptomyces coelicolor makes a striking red-purple pigment, and now she's using it to develop bold, color-fast fabric dye that cuts down on water waste and chemical runoff, compared with traditional dyes. And she isn't alone in using synthetic biology to redefine our material future; think -- "leather" made from mushrooms and superstrong yarn made from spider-silk protein. We're not going to build the future with fossil fuels, Chieza says. We're going to build it with biology.