Library Guides: No Cost Low Cost Options for Courses: Language

OER in Language

Basic Hindi I
COERLL The Center for Open Educational Resources & Language Learning (COERLL) is one of 16 National Foreign Language Resource Centers (LRC's) funded by the U.S. Department of Education.
College ESL Writers: Applied Grammar and Composing Strategies for Success
Curso de Escritura en Espanol
Elementary Arabic
Elementary Chinese I This open textbook is designed for those who are learning Chinese as a second/foreign language in their first semester. It has eight chapters, covering topics including a brief introduction about the Chinese language, greetings, and self-introduction, hobbies, nationalities, family members and occupations, inviting friends to dinner, talking about food and beverage, making phone calls, and talking about classes and exams.
Elementary Chinese II This open textbook is designed for those who are learning Chinese as a second/foreign language in their second semester. It has six chapters, covering topics including describing school life, shopping in stores and online, transportation means, reporting weather and climates, ordering foods, and asking and giving directions.
Elementary Mandarin I This course is designed for learners with no background in Chinese. It introduces basic structures of the Mandarin Chinese language with emphasis on listening, speaking, reading and writing skills. Students will gain these four skills in standard Mandarin Chinese, attaining approximately the Novice-High level on the ACTFL-ETS (American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages) proficiency scale. Topics of conversation include basic greetings, names, family, work, study, and hobbies.
Foreign Languages in the Literary in the Everyday (FLLITE) For teachers at all levels, the handbook provides ideas for how to enhance a unit or a course by adding elements of FLLITE. For Language Program Directors and curriculum designers, the handbook also provides a starting point for articulating a curricular arc across multiple courses. And finally, for those involved in graduate student professional development, this handbook can be used as a whole or excerpted to assist Graduate Student Instructors to see connections between their teaching in the beginning levels and other courses they will be asked to teach further in their careers.
Français inclusif: An Interactive Textbook for French 102 This textbook provides a remixed version of Français Interactif exercises, adding interactivity and new exercises. It offers an easy way for students to study the vocabulary and grammar for each module, while providing exercises to practice and apply what they’ve learned. Modules also contain an introduction page with learning objectives, a cultural reflection assignment, a presentational speaking and/or writing assessment, and Allez plus loin (Go further) page which contains additional content.
Français interactif - Website refresh First year French program We are also pleased to announce that Français interactif will have a new, fresh look! As you know, websites require regular updates to keep them functioning properly. So, we undertook a website refresh. While the interface has changed, the content remains the same. The new changes give the user even more flexibility. For instance, all the interactive activities have been migrated to H5P and can now be easily embedded in your Learning Management System. We hope you continue to enjoy Français interactif!
German Studies Collaboratory
Grammar to Accompany Deutsch im Blick This book is a distinctive Grammar edition to “Deutsch im Blick“, an OER textbook housed at the Center for Open Educational Resources and Language Learning (COERLL) at UT Austin and authored by Dr. Zsuzsanna Abrams. This book was developed having in mind university students who speak English as their first language. Although this material was developed for university students, we believe that its content is also applicable to high school students, adolescents, and adults learning German.
Grenzenlos Deutsch This full-year curriculum is intended as a no-cost alternative to current, more traditional textbooks in the field. It mixes materials rooted in real-world, contemporary communication scenarios, multimedia content, and online learning activities.The Grenzenlos curriculum ensures that the topics of discussion in the language classroom are relevant to and reflect today’s world...
Hola a Todos: Elementary Spanish I
Liberte: French 1001: 2nd Edition
Liberte: French 1002: 2nd Edition
Nuestra comunidad latina an open educational, content-forward resource for first-semester students of Spanish that seeks to foster appreciation of the Spanish-speaking world and contributions of Latinos to American society while developing novice-mid proficiency in productive and receptive skills. ]
Social and Regional Dialects of Spanish This book presents an intermediate-advanced level course that employs preexisting resources and materials created by the author, Dr. Emily Kuder, to facilitate the learning of topics related to hispanic dialectology and sociolinguistics through openly available content. The book can be used by learners as a self-guided course or by a group of learners in a conventional class as a textbook.
Trayectos Trayectos is designed for adaptability. Users are free to adapt the content and to share your new creations with others thanks to its open license (CC-BY-SA). Trayectos brings to life the diversity of the Spanish-speaking world through its use of authentic digital media. In addition, the program includes a two-volume print textbook available as a PDF or hard copy book (a print-on-demand textbook). In keeping with its commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion, Trayectos follows the Multiliteracies framework referred to as Learning By Design (Kalantzis et al. 2005, 2016).
¡Bienvenidos!
¿Cómo suena?

Helpful Tutorial

Introduction to OER for Language Teachers These modules are a resource for language educators who are interested in using and creating Open Educational Resources (OER). The content was developed over time through working with educators on many different OER projects, including open textbooks, video-based learning materials, podcasts, online language courses, and more. The modules describe the practices COERLL currently recommends to language educators who are developing OER, and will be updated as new techniques and methods emerge.