No Cost Low Cost Options for Courses
Using Open Educational Resources (OER) and other options for Educational Materials for Saving Students Money
OER Materials in Nursing & Allied Health
- The Art and Science of Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing 2nd edition The Art and Science of Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing (2nd ed.) is an interactive open textbook that focuses on the key areas for a nurse to know when developing skills in evidence-based practice. An introductory special focus is on the muddy points of evidence-based practice content.
- Biology 351 Anatomical Illustrations These anatomical illustrations were created by Biological and Pre-Medical Illustration (BPMI) students that had previously attended the course, BIOL351: Comparative Chordate Anatomy. The students worked closely with the lab instructor to develop detailed anatomical illustrations of the specimens studied in the lab, which allowed the students to showcase their work. The images were then incorporated in the lab handbook for the course and made more widely available as open educational resources.
- Building a Medical Terminology Foundation Building a Medical Terminology Foundation is an OER that focuses on breaking down medical terms into their word parts, pronouncing medical terms, and learning the meaning of medical terms within the context of introductory anatomy and physiology. This resource is targeted for health office administration and health services students in the first year of their college programs.
- Cardiovascular Pathophysiology for Pre-Clinical Students is an undergraduate medical-level resource for foundational knowledge of common cardiovascular diseases, disorders and pathologies. This text is designed for a course pre-clinical undergraduate medical curriculum and it is aligned to USMLE(r) (United States Medical Licensing Examination) content guidelines. The text is meant to provide the essential information from these content areas in a concise format that would allow learner preparation to engage in an active classroom.
- Cell Biology, Genetics, and Biochemistry for Pre-Clinical Students is an undergraduate medical-level resource for foundational knowledge across the disciplines of genetics, cell biology and biochemistry. This USMLE-aligned text is designed for a first-year undergraduate medical course that is delivered typically before students start to explore systems physiology and pathophysiology. The text is meant to provide the essential information from these content areas in a concise format that would allow learner preparation to engage in an active classroom.
- Clinical Procedures for Safer Patient Care This open educational resource (OER) was developed to ensure best practice and quality care based on the latest evidence, and to address inconsistencies in how clinical health care skills are taught and practised in the clinical setting. The checklist approach, used in this textbook, aims to provide standardized processes for clinical skills and to help nursing schools and clinical practice partners keep procedural practice current. Each skill/procedure is covered in a chapter that has learning objectives, a brief overview of the relevant theory, checklists of steps for procedures with the rationale behind each step of the process, and a summary of key takeaways. Key terms are set in bold throughout the book and laid out again in a Glossary in the appendix. All 88 checklists are also summarized, and hyperlinked to the original checklist, in the appendix.
- Enabling and Optimising Recovery from COVID-19 A handbook for health professionals and other caregivers of people with Long COVID
- Exploring the U.S. Healthcare System This open educational resource (OER) introduces students to foundational characteristics of the U.S. healthcare system. It begins with an overview of the healthcare system that includes a brief history and a description of the current state of health in the U.S.
- Innovative Lesson Plans for Active Learning: Teaching Nursing Research and Evidence-Based Practice Innovative Lessons Plans for Active Learning: Teaching Research and Evidence-Based Practice is a resource in research and evidence-based practice for active learning in the undergraduate nursing classroom.
- Leading Change in Health Systems: Strategies for RN-BSN Students Designed for practicing nurses pursuing a Bachelor of Science in Nursing. This book is focused on building upon previous knowledge, skills and attitudes Registered Nurses (RNs) related to leadership in healthcare systems. Readers will be able to apply the theoretical knowledge gained from this course in their clinical practice environment.
- Literature Reviews for Education and Nursing Graduate Students open textbook designed for students in graduate-level nursing and education programs. Its intent is to recognize the significant role the literature review plays in the research process and to prepare students for the work that goes into writing one. Developed for new graduate students and novice researchers just entering into the work of a chosen discipline, each of the eight chapters covers a component of the literature review process. Students will learn how to form a research question, search existing literature, synthesize results and write the review. The book contains examples, checklists, supplementary materials, and additional resources. Literature Reviews for Education and Nursing Graduate Students is written by two librarians with expertise guiding students through research and writing assignments,
- Medical Terminology 2e This textbook is an open educational resource (OER) with CC-BY 4.0 licensing. It is aligned with the course competencies of Wisconsin Technical College System’s Medical Terminology course (10-501-101). The Medical Terminology course focuses on learning the components of medical terms, including prefixes, suffixes, and word roots, and also introduces students to diagnostic, therapeutic, surgical, and symptomatic terminology of all body systems. A workgroup of WTCS faculty, led by Chippewa Valley Technical College, created this second edition based on peer reviewer feedback received for the first edition of the WTCS Medical Terminology OER textbook. Here is a summary of revisions and additions made in the second edition.
- Medical Terminology for Health Care Professions Medical Terminology for Healthcare Professions is an Open Educational Resource (OER) that focuses on breaking down, pronouncing, and learning the meaning of medical terms within the context of anatomy and physiology. This resource is targeted for Healthcare Administration, Health Sciences, and Pre-Professional students.
- Neuroscience for Pre-Clinical Students covers neuroenergetics, neurotransmitters, neuropeptides, and selected amino acid metabolism and degradation. This USMLE-aligned text is designed for a first-year undergraduate medical course and is meant to provide the essential biochemical information from these content areas in a concise format to enable students to engage in an active classroom. Hence, it does not cover neurophysiology and neuroanatomy; and clinical correlates and additional application of content are intended to be provided in the classroom experience.
- Nursing Pharmacology Text is part of the OpenRN OER project.
- OpenRN The Open RN project is funded by a $2.5 million dollar grant from the Department of Education to create 5 OER Nursing Textbooks with 25 associated Virtual Reality scenarios. *In Progress
- OpenRN with FlexEd Open Educational Resources (OER) coupled with FlexEd complete digital courseware for College Nursing programs - aligned with NCLEX learning objectives.
- Pulmonary Physiology for Pre-Clinical Students is an undergraduate medical-level resource for foundational knowledge of pulmonary physiology. This text is designed for a pre-clinical medical curriculum and is aligned to USMLE(r) (United States Medical Licensing Examination) content guidelines. The text is meant to provide the essential information in a concise format that would allow learner preparation to engage in an active classroom.
- Social Determinants of Health in Nursing Education: Integrating Into Curriculum and Practice This workbook was established with nurse educators and nursing students in mind to provide knowledge, guidance, and support for integrating social determinants of health (SDOH) across the nursing education spectrum. Contents from this workbook are applicable to pre-licensure baccalaureate nursing programs, RN-to-BSN programs, and graduate education.
Open Stax Nursing Materials
- Clinical Nursing Skills Clinical Nursing Skills is designed to equip nursing students with the practical knowledge and hands-on skills necessary to provide comprehensive patient care. The material emphasizes the application of clinical judgment in a variety of settings, ensuring that students are prepared to deliver high-quality care across different patient populations and clinical scenarios. The content utilizes concepts promoting the development of clinical judgment by building upon the systematic model developed by the National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN).
- Fundamentals of Nursing Fundamentals of Nursing aligns with the outcomes and competencies of a nursing fundamentals course. It is designed to provide students with the foundational knowledge and practical expertise essential for delivering holistic and patient-centered care. The authors emphasize the application of clinical judgment across diverse healthcare environments, ensuring readiness to deliver high-quality, compassionate care in an inclusive and supportive manner. Composed of 43 chapters, Fundamentals of Nursing offers an in-depth exploration of the roles and responsibilities of the nursing profession, the healthcare environment, and the application of critical thinking and evidence-based practice.
- Maternal-Newborn Nursing Maternal-Newborn Nursing introduces students to the concepts and skills related to pregnancy, birth, postpartum, newborn care, reproductive health, and social determinants related to those topics. Written and thoroughly reviewed by experienced nurse educators, the material focuses on patient safety, mental health, and inclusive care, and offers robust real-world scenarios and situational patient education experiences to apply concepts to practice.
- Nutrition for Nurses Nutrition for Nurses is structured to support the flexible integration of nutrition content across both system-based and nursing competency-based curricula. It can be used whether nutrition is taught as a standalone course or part of another nursing course. The table of contents for Nutrition for Nurses presents content in 20 chapters, organized into 9 thematic units.
- Pharmacology for Nurses Pharmacology for Nurses is intended for nursing students in an introductory program. It provides a fundamental understanding of the therapeutic use of drugs, so the nurse can provide safe and effective care to the client. Along with a discussion of each body system, the text also reviews the pathophysiology of various disease processes and medications used in treatment. The table of contents presents 40 chapter topics, organized into 11 units. The first unit, consisting of 3 chapters, provides a broad overview of pharmacology, with the following 10 units focused on specific body systems.
- Population Health for Nurses Population Health for Nurses prepares nurses to develop interventions, policies, and practices that promote health equity and improved health outcomes across the health care delivery continuum. The text emphasizes the social determinants of health and how nurses can plan and implement health promotion and disease prevention interventions. It takes a holistic perspective, connecting human health behavior to the dynamic, ongoing interactions of the person, social factors, and the physical environment in which people are born, live, learn, play, work, and age.
- Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing is designed to support a one-semester psychiatric-mental health nursing course offered at both two-year and four-year institutions. Serving students specializing in psychiatric nursing and those from other health disciplines, this learning resource integrates evidence-based practices with practical strategies for communication, readying students to build therapeutic relationships with patients and caregivers.