Special Collections at Zach S. Henderson Library: World War II
Leodel Coleman papers
This collection consists of the personal and professional papers of Leodel Coleman concerning his WWII service from 1942-1945. It includes stories for local newspapers about the U.S. Marine Corps mainly regarding promotions, weddings, and Purple Heart recipients. Additional correspondence between Margaret Mitchell and family is included.
William M. Rigdon papers
This collection consists of correspondence, official military records, clippings, press releases, reports, memoranda, photographs, printed material, two unpublished manuscripts, and a diary recording William M. Rigdon's naval service as the United States entered World War II. The materials pertain to Rigdon's naval service, particularly as the Assistant Naval Aide (1942-1953) to Presidents Roosevelt and Truman, and after his retirement from the Navy, as Executive Manager of the Virginia Hotel Company. Topics documented by the collection include descriptions of Manila before and during World War II, the Potsdam Conference, and the origins of the Democratic Club in Washington, D.C.
Georgia Watson papers
This collection consists of papers of Georgia B. Watson from 1926-1992. Materials include correspondence, corrected typescripts of Watson's books on retirement and her World War II Army Service with the Women's Army Corps, materials relating to Watson's career at Georgia Southern, clippings by or about Watson, speeches, research notes, and ephemera. The correspondence mainly documents Watson's literary career via correspondence with her editors, publishers, and the public.
Roxie Remley Papers
This collection consists of the papers of Georgia Southern Emerita Professor of Art, Roxie A. Remley, from 1942-2020. Materials include professional and personal correspondence, journals, day calendars, photographs, and other unpublished materials related to Remley’s work with the Women’s Army Auxiliary Corps (WAAC) (later Women’s Army Corps), Georgia Southern College, the Statesboro First Methodist Church, and other local organizations. Examples of Remley’s artwork and framed prints are included as well as materials originally belonging to friend and colleague Georgia B. Watson.
- View the Finding Aid to this collection.
- Find this collection in the Library Catalog.
Guthrie Parker Meade papers
The collection consists of papers of Guthrie P. Meade from 1942-1993, the bulk of which document his naval service aboard the U.S.S. Ancon from 1942-1945. Materials include photographs, printed material, military records, clippings, and journals.
John Fletcher Darley, Jr. papers
This collection consists of photocopies of the original letters of United States Navy Hospital Apprentice First Class John Fletcher Darley, Jr. and his family sent from overseas and Marine bases in the United States in 1944 and 1945. Also included are photocopies of the telegram informing his parents that he had been killed in action and condolence letters from men who served with him.
Les Vannetais Letters to Kemp Mabry
The collection consists of fifty-seven letters from French residents of Vannes to Dr. (then Sgt.) Kemp Mabry, spanning 1945-53. Letters from members of the L'Honnen and Le Bourgne families, and especially from Suzanne Le Gleuher (later Saporita). User copies of the letters of “Les Vannetais” in two bound volumes are also included.
William A. Hagins papers
This collection contains the papers of William Archer Hagins, Sr. from 1919-2005. Included within the collection are written letters, V-Mail, military documents, and legal documents concerning Hagins’ service in the United States Army during World War I and World War II. Additional materials related to the Hagins Family including William Archer Hagins, Jr., a prominent American medical researcher, are included and consist of family photographs and genealogical research materials
Edward G. Little papers
This collection contains Edward G. Little’s personal and professional work, notes, and photographs as a professor, researcher, and scholar from 1921 until his passing in 1998. Included are handwritten and typed drafts and portions of his book Icelandic Sagas: Crossroads of Myth, History, and Sociology, photographs from Iceland, of family, and of research, a great deal of research notes, as well as papers documenting. Little’s time in the Air Force and other group involvements.