Special Collections at Zach S. Henderson Library: Evans County
Elias Hodges papers
This collection contains the papers of Elias Hodges including field notes, plat diagrams, and calculations from Mr. Hodges' land surveying practice in Evans County, Georgia.
Lucile Hodges collection
Miss Hodges was the historian of Evans County, Georgia, and this collection is a rich source of documents, photographs, clippings, and notes on the history and genealogy of the county and surrounding areas, as well as on Miss Hodges and her family.
S. E. "Zeke" Perkins papers
This collection consists of printed and manuscript materials collected by S. E. "Zeke" Perkins, a lifelong resident of Evans County, Georgia. Materials include printed and manuscript materials related to several churches and the Hepzibah Baptist Association; a copy of the diary of John Rogers Smith's visit to the last Blue/Gray reunion at Gettysburg (1938); an unpublished manuscript history of the Perkins mill and lumber company, Hagan, Georgia; an unpublished manuscript history of Ezell Masonic lodge; information about Perkins family history; pamphlets and news articles about the Claxton Annual Rattlesnake Roundup (1970-1973); a Georgia almanac (1911); Evans County Jubilee volume (1964); and miscellaneous travel brochures and newspaper clippings.
Canoochee River Valley Association records
This collection consists of records of the Canoochee River Valley Association (CRVA) from 1968-1978. Includes correspondence to and from Georgia legislators and congressmen, Governor Jimmy Carter, Lt. Gov. Lester Maddox, and the Groveland Lakes Development Authority; minutes of CRVA meetings; petitions; resolutions; maps; newspaper clippings; and printed materials.