Special Collections at Zach S. Henderson Library: Oral History
Special Collections Oral History Collection
This collection contains transcripts, original recordings, and copies of oral interviews and public speeches. Those interviewed are mostly locals to Bulloch County and neighboring counties. Interviewees discuss their family life, historical events they were a part of, and circumstances surrounding their successes. The collection includes such people as Malcolm Maclean (Savannah, Georgia, mayor, 1960-1966); Lester Maddox (Georgia governor, 1967-1971); Ernest and Huldah Mingledord (family of Lee Mingledorf); Georgia B. Watson (served in Women's Army Corp.); John P. Rousakis (Savannah mayor, 1970-1992, first Greek-American mayor of Savannah); and many other veterans and family histories. all recordings took place between 1970 and 2005. Interviews were conducted by Georgia Southern University History Department and Zach S. Henderson Library Special Collections.
Peace Officers Association of Georgia records
The Peace Officers Association of Georgia records includes videos and transcripts of oral history interviews with retired and active duty law enforcement officers. Faculty and Students (undergraduate and graduate) from the Georgia Southern History Department conducted the interviews from 2014-18. The goal of the collection is to document the evolution of law enforcement in Georgia and to educate the public.
Mary Sue DeLoach Smith Collection
This collection contains In-depth interviews with fourteen people who worked as boarding teachers in Bulloch, 1930-1940s, and transcripts, recorded by Dr. Smith as part of the documentation for her 1999 dissertation. Three commissary account books for John H. Brannen farm, six miles west of Statesboro, 1929-1950s.
Magnolia Springs Research Transcripts
The collection consists of transcripts of oral history interviews conducted by Dr. George A. Rogers and Susan Moody in 1997 and 1998. Those interviewed were Mrs. Lee Anderson, Dr. Charlton Moseley and Mrs. Willie Lee Moseley, James Rigdon, and Mary Lee Jones Tucker. Interviewees remembered Daniel Edgar ("Mr. Dan") Bland and his wife Catherine and their farm, Magnolia Springs. Both attended First District Agricultural and Mechanical School (Mr. Bland graduated in 1916). All of the land on which their farm thrived is now part of the University, the homestead itself now the University Botanical Gardens.
Billy Lee Evans Collection
This collection consists of the papers of Billy Lee Evans from 1977-1982. The papers include correspondence, legislative files, clippings, videotapes (1977-1980), and audiotapes documenting Evans' activities as a U.S. Representative from Georgia's 8th District. The materials include information on legislation before Congress, topics of interest to Evans or his constituents, and Evans' service on the U.S. House Committee on the Judiciary, particularly its oversight hearings on personal bankruptcy.