Upcoming Workshops in September

The Metaliteracy: Scholarly Communications (MSC) badge track assists faculty and graduate students with building knowledge of and skills in Scholarly Communications. Workshops will cover topics throughout the research and publication lifecycle: author identifiers and scholarly profiles; author metrics and impact; intellectual property; author rights & scholarly publication; and data management planning and curation services. Faculty can earn a digital badge by completing 4 or more workshops in this track.

Most workshops will be offered as synchronous Zoom sessions. You may register on the Faculty Center's Training Page or follow the links below:

• Intellectual Property for Scholarly Teaching, Research, and Innovation,  Sept. 11, 10am; Sept. 12, 1pm (Zoom); Facilitator: John Schlipp

Intellectual property (IP) is a mysterious legal topic which most believe only lawyers understand. This session provides an overview of IP for educators. It introduces the concept of the creator’s rights in relation to the consumer’s use of IP. Copyright, fair use, TEACH Act, plagiarism, trademarks, patents, and more are covered in this introductory badge track to IP.  NOTE: Follow-up library instruction sessions for advanced trademark and patent searching are available upon request after attending this session. 

Learning Outcomes: Upon completion of this workshop, participants will become intellectual property literate and be able to: Identify intellectual properties associated with their unique teaching, research, and innovation needs; Understand and apply various types of fair use when using others’ copyrights or trademarks for teaching, research, writing, and innovation; and Protect their own intellectual properties for teaching, research, writing, and innovation.

• Introduction to Georgia Southern Scholars: Update and Enhance Your Personal Profile, Sept. 18 10am; Sept. 19, 1:00 pm (Zoom); Facilitator: Jeff Mortimore

Georgia Southern Scholars, the University’s new scholarly profile platform for faculty, is hosted on Elsevier Pure, the world’s leading research information management system (RIMS). Sometimes called “current research information systems,” RIMS provide robust reporting features that help researchers and institutions track and analyze research activity and impact, identify research trends and grant opportunities, focus institutional resources, and encourage collaboration. In this workshop, we cover the basics of RIMS and Elsevier Pure, then we take a deep dive into updating and enhancing your personal GS Scholars profile.

Learning Outcomes: Upon completion of this workshop, participants will be able to: 1) describe the purpose and value of research information management systems (RIMS) to researchers and institutions, 2) evaluate the contents of their GS Scholars profile, and 3) update and enhance their profile to further promote their research identity.

• SciVal Research Analytics (In-Person): Sept. 23, 1:00 pm (Armstrong, Lane Library, Room 130); Sept. 24, 1:00 pm (Statesboro, Henderson Library, Room 1308); Sept. 26, 1:00 pm (Statesboro, Henderson Library, Room 1308); Sept. 27, 1:00 pm (Armstrong, Lane Library, Room 130); Facilitators: David Weindorf, Katia Karadjova

Georgia Southern University has recently adopted the SciVal research analytics platform from Elsevier to help track the performance of the research enterprise. Built upon the Scopus database (94+ m records; 19.6+ m author profiles), SciVal enables us to visualize research enterprise performance, compare our research performance to peer institutions, track trends over time, and understand the strengths of peer institutions in forming partnerships. Further, SciVal allows us to query such information for any university in the world. In this training session the Office of Research and the University Libraries will provide guidance on how to use SciVal, examples of how it might be applied in support of departmental/college/university goals, and answer questions you may have about its use.

Learning Outcomes: Upon completion of this workshop, participants will  know how to use SciVal, examples of how it might be applied in support of departmental/college/university goals, and answer questions about its use.

Welcome to Georgia Southern Scholars!

On Monday, July 1st, the GS Libraries launched an all-new scholarly profile platform called Georgia Southern Scholars. GS Scholars replaces the Libraries’ legacy SelectedWorks platform, which will be sunsetted later this year.

GS Scholars is a public, searchable database that highlights the scholarly and creative activities of Georgia Southern faculty. GS Scholars advances collaboration, discovery, and innovation by connecting researchers across departments and colleges, with government and industry partners, and with researchers at other institutions. 

All tenure-track faculty at Georgia Southern have a scholarly profile in GS Scholars, and all research-active non-tenure track faculty may request a profile if they want one. In addition, GS Scholars includes profiles for select emeriti, retired, and deceased faculty. 

We strongly encourage all Georgia Southern faculty with a Georgia Southern Scholars profile to log into your profile and begin familiarizing yourself with it. When you are ready, the Libraries have prepared a Getting Started guide that covers the following:

• Logging In: Introduces how to log into your GS Scholars profile and get help.
• Profile Overview: Introduces the user interface and profile components.
• Personal Information: Introduces your personal profile record and basic updates.
• Adding Content: Introduces content types, including the kinds of content to include in your profile.

For more information about GS Scholars, see the Libraries’ GS Scholars LibGuide and GS Scholars FAQ. For faculty with legacy SelectedWorks profiles, we strongly encourage you to review several important updates on the GS Scholars LibGuide if you have not done so already. These updates address important differences between SelectedWorks and GS Scholars of which you should be aware before logging into your profile.

If you have any questions or concerns, or if you are unable to access your profile, please contact the GS Commons Team at digitalcommons@georgiasouthern.edu.

Need Help with Your Georgia Southern Scholars Profile?
Office Hours Available!

Need help updating your GS Scholars profile? Contact the GS Commons Team at digitalcommons@georgiasouthern.edu to schedule an office hour with Jeffrey Mortimore, Digital Scholarship Librarian.
 

SciVal and Scopus Are Now Available! 

SciVal provides access to the research performance of over 24,400 research institutions and their associated researchers from 234 nations worldwide. SciVal allows you to visualize your organization’s research performance, benchmark it against peers, and identify emerging research trends. For more information about SciVal, including login instructions, see here.

Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database with comprehensive coverage of scientific, technical, medical and social sciences literature. Scopus covers 330 disciplines to ensure researchers, instructors, librarians and students have confidence that they are not missing out on the vital information they need to advance their research and scholarship. To learn more about Scopus, see here.

For more information about these powerful new resources, Ask Us!

Attend a FREE 90-minute Intellectual Property online Zoom workshops in partnership with the Business Innovation Group (BIG). Learn more about how to search for patents or trademarks via FREE online databases from the US Patent & Trademark Office. All sessions are offered virtually via Zoom. Click LINKS below to register:
 

Tuesday, 17 September 9AM - Trademarks
https://georgiasouthern.libcal.com/event/13027073

Wednesday, 18 September 3PM - Patents
https://georgiasouthern.libcal.com/event/13037852
 

Need more info? Email John Schlipp.
 

ALG Round 26 Call for Proposals Open:

Affordable Learning GA is now accepting proposals for Round 26 of their grants. 

• Transformation Grants - up to $30,000
• Continuous Improvement Grants - up to $10,000
• Research Grants - up to $10,000

For details about each grant category, please visit ALG's Grant's Overview Page.

Online Interest Meeting is September 9, 2024. 

Application Deadline is October 28, 2024. 

For information on how to apply, or guidance in creating a strong application, please contact Nikki Rech: dcannonrech@georgiasouthern.edu

Explore this infograph for examples of the exciting work from GS faculty! 

Georgia Southern University faculty, staff, students and alumni can continue to submit the their works to be included in the Authors Lounge Collection using this Form.

Eligible works are published articles, books, book chapters, special issues of journals, substantive encyclopedia entries, poetry, musical compositions, audio recordings, film/video recordings, and art exhibition catalogs.

If you would like to bypass the form and submit your list of publications or a CV, please send it to: Dr. Katia G. Karadjova (kkaradjova@georgiasouthern.edu), Associate Dean of Libraries for Research & Assessment.

News from ICPSR

ICPSR Celebrates Recipient of the 2024 ICPSR Innovator Award:

• Senior Curator, Benjamin Dreyer, has been awarded the 2024 ICPSR Innovator Award for the groundbreaking creation of a Configurable Quality Control Interface. [read more here]

Other News: https://www.icpsr.umich.edu/web/about/cms/news

Recent Data Releases and Data Brunch, ICPSR's podcast:

• Stories about data, the people who use, seek, or create data, and why you should care. From ICPSR, the world's largest social science data archive. Proudly recorded at the University of Michigan.

  Subscribe now and never miss an episode. You can listen on Soundcloud, Spotify, or Apple Podcasts.

• Also, be sure to check out the latest ICPSR Bulletin and ICPSR Guidance on New NIH Policy (12-20-2023)

• ICPSR's 2024 Summer Program Scholarship Applications are now open!  

• What is ICPSR?  Watch "ICPSR Stands for Data" (YouTube, 2:08) or  visit the ICPSR YouTube channel, ICPSR 101
• Do you teach with data? See ICPSR’s Classroom Exercises and Resources for Teachers.
• ICPSR's Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Statement