Scholarly Communications at Georgia Southern University

Scholarly Communications Newsletter - March/April 2025

Update: Cabell's Journalytics Academic

The University Libraries are pleased to announce that we have restored access to Cabell's Journalytics Academic (formerly Cabell's "Whitelist" and "Predatory Reports"). Journalytics Academic was previously supported by GALILEO and is now supported by the GS University Libraries.

Journalytics Academic gives decision data, benchmarks and context for thousands of reputable academic journals. This database is designed for academia and covers journals of all sizes and specialties from every field. You can access Journalytics Academic via the GS Libraries A-Z Databases list. More information about Journalytics Academic also can be found here, as well as the Cabells User Guide.

Since the Cabell's website has been extensively updated, the University Libraries will continue to offer workshops through the Faculty Center again this semester to familiarize faculty with the new interface. Registration links can be found on the Faculty Center's Workshops Calendar or our Scholarly Communications workshops page. If you are unable to attend any of our workshops when they are offered, please contact Ruth Baker, Scholarly Communications Librarian (rbaker@georgiasouthern.edu), to arrange an individual consultation.

Upcoming Workshops in March & April

The Metaliteracy: Scholarly Communications (MSC) badge track assists faculty and graduate students with building knowledge of and skills in Scholarly Communications. Workshops will cover topics throughout the research and publication lifecycle: author identifiers and scholarly profiles; author metrics and impact; intellectual property; author rights & scholarly publication; and data management planning and curation services. Faculty can earn a digital badge by completing 4 or more workshops in this track.

Workshops will be offered as synchronous Zoom sessions. You may register on the Faculty Center's Training Page (or follow the links below) and the Zoom link will be shared with you by the Faculty Center. If you are unable to attend any of our workshops when they are offered, please contact Ruth Baker, Scholarly Communications Librarian (rbaker@georgiasouthern.edu) to arrange an individual consultation.

• Cabell's Journalytics Academic, Mar. 12, 10:00 am (Zoom); Mar. 13, 10:00 am (Zoom); Facilitator: Ruth Baker

This search platform serves the academic community with key data on thousands of verified academic journals. An essential component of the Journalytics Academic suite is the new Predatory Reports integration. This feature provides information about 17,000+ predatory journals, ensuring users have the full rundown of opportunities and risks. This workshop will provide a walkthrough of the updated Journalytics Academic interface, with particular attention to Cabell's journal selection and predatory reports criteria.

Learning Outcomes: Upon completion of this workshop, participants will be able to: 1) search Cabell's curated journal database for top journals in their fields by title, discipline, ISSN, and other search terms;  2) view data on specific curated journals, including metrics such as Scite Index and altmetric data; and 3) view predatory reports on specific journals, with details on deceptive, fraudulent, or predatory journal publishing practices.

• Intellectual Property for Scholarly Teaching, Research, and Innovation,  Mar. 26, 10:00 am (Zoom); Mar. 27, 10:00 am (Zoom); Facilitator: Jeff Mortimore

Intellectual property (IP) is a mysterious legal topic which most believe only lawyers understand. This session provides an overview of IP for educators. It introduces the concept of the creator’s rights in relation to the consumer’s use of IP. Copyright, fair use, TEACH Act, plagiarism, trademarks, patents, and more are covered in this introductory badge track to IP.  NOTE: Follow-up library instruction sessions for advanced trademark and patent searching are available upon request after attending this session. 

Learning Outcomes: Upon completion of this workshop, participants will become intellectual property literate and be able to: Identify intellectual properties associated with their unique teaching, research, and innovation needs; Understand and apply various types of fair use when using others’ copyrights or trademarks for teaching, research, writing, and innovation; and Protect their own intellectual properties for teaching, research, writing, and innovation.

• Author Rights & Scholarly Publication: Know and Protect Your Copyrights!, Apr. 9, 10:00 am (Zoom); Apr. 10, 10:00 am (Zoom);  Facilitator: Jeff Mortimore

Your copyrights are a valuable asset. Whether you are vetting potential publishers, signing a copyright transfer agreement (CTA), or reviewing the terms under which you previously published your work, take the time to understand your copyrights and how to protect them. In this workshop, we will analyze a number of representative CTAs and reuse licenses (attendees are invited to bring their own!), then discuss strategies for preserving your copyrights throughout the publication process.

Learning outcomes: Upon completion of this workshop, participants will be  able to describe their basic copyrights. Participants will be to: Analyze the impact of publisher copyright transfer agreements (CTAs) and reuse licenses on their ability to share and reuse their published works. Participants will be able to: Describe strategies for preserving their copyright and reuse permissions throughout the publication process.

• Data Management Planning, Apr. 23, 10 am (Zoom); Apr. 24, 10:00 am (Zoom); Facilitator: Jeff Mortimore

Many funding agencies and publishers require that research data be made publicly available as a condition of funding or publication. In this workshop, we will discuss the basics of data management planning, sharing, and archiving with emphasis on attendee's current research. We will look at example datasets and discuss strategies for preparing and licensing data for open access.

Learning outcomes: Upon completion of this workshop, participants will be  able to: 1) Describe current and developing trends in research data management planning and sharing in the context of grant funding and publication, 2) analyze and evaluate example data management plans and adapt them to their own research, and 3) describe basic practices for preparing and licensing data for open access.on specific journals, with details on deceptive, fraudulent, or predatory journal publishing practices.

Open Education Week is an annual celebration and opportunity for those working in Open Education to actively share their achievements and learn about what others are achieving worldwide.

See the 284 Open Education Week events currently listed on the calendar. Some Programs may be available beyond the official dates of Open Education Week. 

Save the Date for OpenEd25 

2025 OpenEd Conference, October 28-30, Denver & Online

2025 Call for Proposals, due April 4, 2025

Recordings of the 2024 OpenEd conference are now available.

Get Help with Your GS Scholars Profile!

Georgia Southern Scholars is a public, searchable database that highlights the scholarly and creative activities of Georgia Southern faculty. All tenure-track faculty have a scholarly profile in GS Scholars, and all research-active non-tenure track faculty may request a profile if they want one.

In addition to easily importing works from Scopus, arXiv, ORCID, PubMed, SSRN, and other online sources, you have extensive control over what information appears on your profile.

Visit the Libraries’ GS Scholars guide to learn more and get started updating your profile. For help, contact the GS Commons Team at digitalcommons@georgiasouthern.edu. A team member will respond as soon as possible during regular business hours.

Georgia Southern University faculty, staff, students and alumni can continue to submit their works to be included in the Authors Lounge Collection using this Form or QR Code

Eligible works are published articles, books, book chapters, special issues of journals, substantive encyclopedia entries, poetry, musical compositions, audio recordings, film/video recordings, and art exhibition catalogs. 

If you would like to bypass the form and submit your list of publications or a CV, please send it to: 

Dr. Katia G. Karadjova (kkaradjova@georgiasouthern.edu), Associate Dean of Libraries for Research & Assessment.

Upcoming Events:

The 4th GS Authors Lounge Celebration will be held in April, 2025 on both campuses.

• Armstrong - Wednesday, April 23 4-5:50 PM - GS Authors Lounge at Lane Library, 1st fl
• Statesboro -Thursday, April 24, 4-5:30 PM- GS Authors Lounge at Henderson Library, 3rd fl

News from ICPSR

Upcoming Events

2025 ICPSR Summer Program in Quantitative Methods: General Sessions: June 9-July 3, July 7-August 1 Topical Workshops: May-August Registration is open now Panel Study of Income Dynamics: Data Users Workshop, June 16-20 Fee: $100 for accepted participants Apply by April 21, 2025 Applied Methods for Studying Structural Racism, Sexism, and Other Systems of Oppression: Data, Measurement, and Modeling, Date: July 22-24, 2025 Free workshop Limited to 25 participants Apply by May 26, 2025 All New Topical Workshops (May-August, 2025): available online, with asynchronous options through Dec. 31, 2025. Discounts are available for individuals from member institutions. Group discounts also are available for Academic Programs and Departments. Visit the Topical Workshops page to learn more.

• What is ICPSR?  Watch "ICPSR Stands for Data" (YouTube, 2:08) or  visit the ICPSR YouTube channel, ICPSR 101
• Do you teach with data? See ICPSR’s Classroom Exercises and Resources for Teachers.
• ICPSR's Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Statement

Recent Data Releases and Data Brunch, ICPSR's podcast:

• Stories about data, the people who use, seek, or create data, and why you should care. From ICPSR, the world's largest social science data archive. Proudly recorded at the University of Michigan.

  Subscribe now and never miss an episode. You can listen on Soundcloud, Spotify, or Apple Podcasts.

• Also, be sure to check out the latest ICPSR Bulletin (Feb2025) and ICPSR Guidance on New NIH Policy (12-20-2023)

  • ICPSR Bulletin Archive