Lane Library's special collections: Minis Room and Armstrong Campus Archives
Researching Armstrong (1935-2018) history
Special Collections focusing on the history of the Armstrong campus (1935-2018) are located at the Lane Library. Start your research on Armstrong's history by:
- Taking advantage of Janet Stone's history of the school, which is available full text online. Keyword search the pdf file for your query/topic. Stone used these archives to research her book.
- ID the records you need using the finding aides in the Georgia Southern Commons. Notice the upper left search box of the finding documents. A few pages of text answers the Who? When? What? about indivdiual collections.
- Step three. Request an appointment to view the records that you've identified from the Finding Aids, or to learn more about your research and the special collections. If you stop by the Lane Library to use the archival materials you will be directed to make an appointment using the same form.
Janet Stone's history of Armstrong
- Stone's history of Armstrong open source, onlineFrom the Mansion to the University: a history of Armstrong...by Janet D. Stone via the Georgia Southern Commons
- From the Mansion to the University: A History of Armstrong Atlantic State University, 1935-2010 byCall Number: LD248.A25 F76 2010Publication Date: 2010
Selected digital collections--more under Savannah history and Armstrong
- Special Collections, Armstrong CampusAlbion's Voice, Artwork of Savannah, Happiness and Hard Times, Living in Savannah Volume 1 & 2 and Savannah Biographies (in process) hosted by the Georgia Southern Commons
- Armstrong State University CollectionsThe Armstrong State University Collections archives a vast array of documents and publications by and about Armstrong State University, which consolidated with Georgia Southern University in early 2018.
- Armstrong via The Internet ArchiveHistoric publications digitized, including college catalogs, yearbooks, student publications and more.
Minis Room & University Archives
Using Florence Powell Minis Room Collection
Special collection books are housed in the Minis Room on Lane Library's 2nd floor. Books are included in the libraries' GIL Find catalog.
- GIL-Find (Catalog) This link opens in a new windowLibrary catalog, Georgia Southern University and USG library collections (more...).
If you identify one or two books in the Minis Room that you would like to use during your visit to Lane Library, check at the Welcome Desk on the first floor. Ask if they are able to pull the books from the Minis for you to use in the library at this time. Minis Room books do not check out of the library.
If you would like to do more extensive research using the Minis Room Collection, request an appointment to use the Special Collections.
Florence Powell Minis Room Collection
Beginning in 1978 A. Robert Minis Jr. endowed the Minis Room and its Collection in memory of his wife, Florence Powell Minis. Since then, the Minis Room has housed a special collection focused on Savannah and the coastal region. All aspects of life in Savannah are included: history, education, economic development, religion, art, music, and social customs. Fiction, biographies, picture books, academic dissertations, and children’s books are collected. The Minis Collection also houses campus publications such as The Inkwell, our student newspaper (1935-.) Copies of some Minis Room books may also be available in the main stacks. Savannah history books are found in classification F 294 S2.
- The Minis Family of Georgia, 1733-1992 byCall Number: F 294.S2 K64 1992Publication Date: 1992