Lane Library's special collections: Frank and Lillian Spencer Collection highlights
Frank W. and Lillian Spencer Collection, 1921-1987
Frank and Lillian Specner
Frank and Lillian Spencer, date and location not known. Spencer Collection folder 80.
Memorials to Frank
- W. W. Law oral history interviews 1990 November 15-16W. W. Law discusses Frank Spencer on page 136 -157.
Exchange on Huntley's comment
- Frank's letter to Huntley 1959Frank response to Huntley's comment at the end of a program on integration.
Threatening Letter
- Anonymous threatening letter to Spencers, 1951Typed copy of the original
- Threatening letter 1951Original letter, enveolope and news clipping attached
Letter to Lillian Spencer from Hubert Humphrey, Sr.
Frank Spencer featured in history of Savannah's waterfront
- Savannah Waterfront by Ava PandianiPart of the Georgia Historical Society's Hidden Histories Online Exhibit
Ths Savannah Sun issue from July 1963
Spencer's collection includes one issue of a Savannah newspaper published in support of the civil rights movement, The Savannah Sun published in July 1963.
Marian Anderson program cover
Finding Aid
- Finding Aid to Frank W. and Lillian Spencer Collection, 1921-1987.Prepared by Alexander Thompson in 2002
Dedication of Spencer Elementary School
Letters of thanks to Frank
- From MargaretLetter to Frank from "Marg" from Converse dated June 1930. Margaret Spencer, Frank's daugther
- From Thomas GambleTo Frank from Thomas Gamble Mayor of Savannah, 1937.
For more information about the Spencer Collection
Caroline Hopkinson
Contact:
Georgia Southern University Libraries--Lane Library
Savannah, GA 31419-1997 chopkinson@georgiasouthern.edu
Savannah, GA 31419-1997 chopkinson@georgiasouthern.edu
912-344-3019