Scholarly Communications at Georgia Southern University

The GS Authors Lounge Inaugural Celebration was held on April 7, 2022. This will be a permanent, physical collection of books, articles, CDs, and DVDs recognizing GS faculty, staff, students, and alumni for their scholarship and creative work. A computer station showcases their digital publications and creative work as well. Each spring, we will celebrate works published during the previous year.

Provost Reiber, a guest speaker at the event, commended GS Libraries on the achievement. An open mic was available to authors to speak about their publications and creative work.

The GS Authors Lounge will highlight our aim “to enhance quality of life through scholarly pursuits, cultural enrichment, and community engagement” articulated in the GS mission.

Georgia Southern University faculty, staff, students, and alumni can continue to identify their works for recognition in next year's celebration using this Form. 

If you would like to bypass the form and submit your list of publications or a CV, please send it to Dr. Katia G. Karadjova (kkaradjova@georgiasouthern.edu), Associate Dean of Libraries for Research & Assessment.

The Scholarly Communication Team hosted drop-in Professional Identity clinics on Zoom during the 2022 Georgia Southern University Research Symposium (April 19th & 20th) hosted by the University Libraries.  Here are the slides for download including contact information for each team member if you have follow-up questions:

Registration is open for the ICPSR  Summer Program -- The Early Payment discount has been extended until May 15th!

All of ICPSR's courses will feature hybrid instruction this summer. Learn with live lectures in Ann Arbor, or from your own home or office. Every lecture is recorded too, so you can watch on your own time, or review what you saw in class earlier. Synchronous or asynchronous, it's your course on your time.   To qualify for the early payment discount, all you need to do is register for four-week sessions by May 15, 2022.
 

•  Four-week sessions feature more than 40 fully hybrid courses, including machine learning, SEM, Bayesian modeling, network analysis, and multilevel modeling, among others. 
• The  main four-week sessions will run from June 20 to July 15 for the first session and from July 18 to August 12 for the second session.
• Short workshops will be starting in May and running through August. For specific dates, visit the ICPSR Summer Program Short Workshops registration page

To register, visit workshop portals for:

For complete information, visit the Summer Program web page at: https://www.icpsr.umich.edu/web/pages/sumprog/

Check out these New Releases and Listen to Data Brunch, ICPSR's podcast with:

• Stories about data, the people who use, seek, or create data, and why you should care. From ICPSR, the world's largest social science data archive. Proudly recorded at the University of Michigan.

  Subscribe now and never miss an episode. You can listen on Soundcloud, Spotify, or Apple Podcasts.

• Also, be sure to check out the latest ICPSR Bulletin 

• What is ICPSR?  Watch "ICPSR Stands for Data" (YouTube, 2:08) or  visit the ICPSR YouTube channel, ICPSR 101
• Do you teach with data? See ICPSR’s Classroom Exercises and Resources for Teachers.
• ICPSR's Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Statement

In celebration of Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage month, the University Libraries and Dr. Nalanda Roy are delighted to announce the launch of our digital collection: An Integral History: Asian Studies Digital Archive. This collaboration showcases the wealth of Asian Studies research produced by the Georgia Southern University community.

An Integral History: Asian Studies Digital Archive provides a curated collection of multi-disciplinary resources in support of the Asian American and Pacific Islander community. Contributions are curated from Georgia Southern Commons, the University’s open-access institutional repository, and highlight Georgia Southern’s scholarly and cultural assets related to the Asian Studies minor. The collection represents faculty and student research, community resources, and campus events. It includes books, photos, videos, theses and dissertations, articles, flyers, and more. 

The archive will continue to grow! Click the “Follow” button on the collection’s homepage to receive updates on new research added to the An Integral History: Asian Studies Digital Archive. We also encourage all interested faculty to contact us to be a part of this initiative. 

Contact Dr. Nalanda Roy, Associate Professor of International Studies and Asian Politics, for information about the Asian Studies minor or Beth Burnett, Institutional Repository Librarian, for information about Georgia Southern Commons. 

The IOER/AACU team surveyed students and faculty concerning their usage and perception of OER in October of 2021.  Thank you to all of the faculty who completed the survey and/or encouraged your students to do so. You may now view the results of these surveys on the OER Library Guide. Please take a look as you are able.
 

Student OER Survey Results

Some highlights: We had around 1120 students take this survey. 

• 56.03% of students who self-identify as Pell Eligible say the cost of course materials has caused them to cut necessary living expenses at least some of the time. 
• 57% of students who self-identify as First Generation say the cost of course materials has caused them to cut necessary living expenses at least some of the time. 
• 26% of all students taking the survey say the cost of course materials has caused them to Not register for a specific course at least some of the time.
• 40% of all students taking the survey say the cost of course materials has caused them to choose one course over another at least some of the time. 

While this survey does not convey any information that has not been captured by other surveys (Florida, Oregon, etc), THIS is a view of OUR (Georgia Southern) students.

 
Faculty OER Survey Results

Faculty results are provided as a whole summary as well as a summary by colleges.