Skip to main content

Digital Humanities at Georgia Southern

Projects

Explore faculty and student-led digital humanities projects at Georgia Southern.

Active Faculty Projects:

European Jesuit Libraries Provenance Project (Kathleen Comerford and Rudy Bond)  Census of books held by Jesuit libraries in Europe prior to the suppression in 1773.

Plantbot Genetics (Jeff Schmuki and Wendy DesChene) Experimental hacked robot plants designed to provoke discussions about genetic modification and the anthropocene.

Goodluck Soup (Matthew Hashiguchi) An interactive documentary collecting stories about the Japanese American and Japanese Canadian experience.

Jesuit Cartography (Robert Batchelor), Global database of Jesuit cartographers.

Waddie Welcome Archive (Robert Batchelor), Database of signs from African-American businesses, churches and other public signs in Savannah.

The Selden Map of China (David Helliwell and Robert Batchelor)  Simple interactive viewer for the Selden Map of China (ca. 1619).

Pacific Routes (Siyen Fei and Robert Batchelor) A prototype for a joint project with the University of Pennsylvania on routes and objects from the Pacific.

Museum of Underwater Archaeology (Kurt Knoerl) Site dedicated to the field of maritime archaeology.

Timebent Music (John Thompson) Music and audiovisual work demonstrating creative coding across modalities that seeks to provide a glimpse of the alien and the imaginary.

 

Recent Student Projects:

Ballot Box. A game about the 1968 election by Jessica Forsee and Alyssa Windsor (Fall 2020).

Black Catholics in the Savannah Diocese.  A database of oral history interviews put together by James Wright with parallel storage at the Digital Library of Georgia (Fall 2020).

Early Printed Books at Georgia Southern.  Information about and scans of some of the large collection of early modern books (1450-1700) held by Georgia Southern by Dipe Adefikayo, Asia Vaughn, Chad Jerhada, Christopher Marler, Jacob Carmickle, Jasmine Starks, and Van Neeley (Spring 2020).  See also the Libguide.

Willow Hill Digital Archive Collection (Jaclyn Grizzell) Database of materials from the Willow Hill collection of African-American life in Bullock County.

Modern Biological Warfare (Victoria Barrett).  Maps of the history of biological warfare since the eighteenth century, with particular emphasis on Cold War sites in the United States.

Statesboro-Bulloch County Library Public History Files (William Wood).  Database of local history files from the Statesboro-Bulloch County Library.

Gordon Riots Mapped (Jessica Dirkson).  Map of sites associated with London's Gordon Riots (1780)

Books in Robert Boyle's Library (Shay Meredith)  Map of the publishing locations of the only known books in Robert Boyle's (1627-1691) library.