Government Document Displays

To honor the 75th anniversary of the end of World War II, Cassandra Hankin, a summer intern in the Government Documents Department, has constructed an exhibit on propaganda used during World War II. This exhibit will be on display from July 11-December 30 on the first floor in Henderson Library. This exhibit’s main feature is a series of pamphlets from the GI Roundtable. The series was produced throughout World War II as well as into the post-war years. 

---

For more information about how World War II propaganda was used through posters and the GI Roundtable series, stop by the first floor exhibit in Henderson Library to learn more! You may also contact the Government Information Librarian, Lori Gwinett, directly at lgwinett@georgiasouthern.edu.

World War II Propaganda Exhibit Resources

American Historical Association. Australia: Our Neighbor Down Under. Washington, D.C.: The War Department, 1944.

American Historical Association. Our British Ally. Washington, D.C.: The War Department, 1944.

American Historical Association. Our Russian Ally. Washington, D.C.: The War Department, 1945.

American Historical Association. Our Chinese Ally. Washington, D.C.: The War Department,1944.

American Historical Association. Will the French Republic Live Again? Washington, D.C.: The War Department, 1944.

American Historical Association. What is the Future of Italy? Washington, D.C.: The War Department, 1945.

American Historical Association. What Makes the British Commonwealth Hold Together? Washington, D.C.: The War Department, 1946.

American Historical Association. What Shall Be Done About Germany After the War? Washington, D.C.: The War Department, 1944.

American Historical Association. What Will Your Town Be Like? Washington, D.C.: The War Department, 1945.

American Historical Association. Is Your Health the Nation's Business? Washington, D.C.: The War Department, 1946.

American Historical Association. Shall I Build a House After the War? Washington, D.C.: The War Department, 1944.

American Historical Association. Shall I Go into Business for Myself? Washington, D.C.: The War Department, 1946.

American Historical Association. What Shall We Do with Our Merchant Fleet? Washington, D.C.: The War Department, 1946.

American Historical Association. Is a Crime Wave Coming? Washington, D.C.: The War Department, 1946.

American Historical Association. Why Do We Have a Social Security Law? Washington, D.C.: The War Department, 1946.

American Historical Association. How Free Are the Skyways? Washington, D.C.: The War Department, 1945.

American Historical Association. What Has Alaska to Offer Postwar Pioneers? Washington, D.C.: The War Department, 1944.

American Historical Association. "GI Roundtable Series." Accessed June 24, 2019. https:www.historians.org/about-aha-and-membership/aha-history-and-archives/gi-roundtable-series

American Historical Association. "Introduction." Accessed June 24, 2019. https://www.historians.org/about-aha-and-membership/aha-history-and-archives/gi-roundtable-series/gi-roundtable-series-introduction

American Historical Association. "Foreword to the Bound Edition of the Pamphlets." Accessed June 25, 2019. https://www.historians.org/about-aha-and-membership/aha-history-and-archives/gi-roundtable-series/background/foreword

American Historical Association. "Planning: Democratic Education or Engineering?" Accessed June 25, 2019. https://www.historians.org/about-aha-and-membership/aha-history-and-archives/gi-roundtable-series/constructing-a-postwar-world-background-and-context/planning-democratic-education-or-engineering

American Historical Association. "Process: Negotiating the Series Into Existence." Accessed June 25, 2019. https://www.historians.org/about-aha-and-membership/aha-history-and-archives/gi-roundtable-series/constructing-a-postwar-world-background-and-context/process-negotiating-the-series-into-existence

American Historical Association. "Content: Mediating the Postwar World." Accessed June 25, 2019. https://www.historians.org/about-aha-and-membership/aha-history-and-archives/gi-roundtable-series/constructing-a-postwar-world-background-and-context/content-mediating-the-postwar-world

American Historical Association. "Conclusion." Accessed June 25, 2019.https://www.historians.org/about-aha-and-membership/aha-history-and-archives/gi-roundtable-series/constructing-a-postwar-world-background-and-context/conclusion

Bailey, Tim. "World War II: Posters and Propaganda." The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History. Accessed June 25,2019. https://www.gilderlehrman.org/content/world-war-ii-posters-and-propaganda

Bird, William, L. Jr. and Harry Rubenstein. "Every Citizen Soldier: World War II Posters in the American Home Front (abridged from History Now 14, Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History.)" The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History. Accessed June 25, 2019. https://www.gilderlehrman.org/sites/default/files/inline-pdfs/Every%20Citizen%20a%20Soldier%20Essay%20%28abridged%29.pdf

Horne, Madison. "These World War II Propaganda Posters Rallied the Home Front." History Stories. Last Modified March 13,2019. https://www.history.com/news/world-war-ii-propaganda-posters-photos-united-states-home-front

Martisiute, Laura. "33 American WWII Propaganda Posters That Weren't Always Politically Correct." Last Modified September 29, 2017. https://allthatsinteresting.com/american-world-war-2-propaganda-posters#1

National Archives. "Powers of Persuasion." Last Modified June 6, 2019. https://www.archives.gov/exhibits/powers-of-persuasion#man-the-guns

Price, Rob, M.A. "The Power of Propaganda in World War II." August 29, 2018. https://www.sagu.edu/thoughthub/the-power-of-propaganda-in-world-war-ii

Warbirds. "10 Unforgettable WW2 Propaganda Posters with Explanation." March 15, 2018. https://pearlharborwarbirds.com/10-unforgettable-ww2-propaganda-posters-explanation/