Skip to Main Content

Scholarly Communications at Georgia Southern University

Resources and services to support faculty and graduate students' scholarly work from conception to publication and promotion

Think-Check-Submit

 A coalition of scholarly publishers and associations collaborated to create this short checklist for authors to refer to when evaluating a journal as a possible place of publication for his research. By asking a few short questions and evaluating the journal according to the checklist, authors can be assured that the journal they are considering, whether subscription-based or open access, will be one of quality, rigor, and respect.

Follow this checklist to make sure you choose trusted journals for your research.

THINK:

  • Are you submitting your research to a trusted journal?
  • Is it the right journal for your work?

CHECKLISTS:

SUBMIT:

  • Only if you can answer ‘yes’ to these questions on these checklists

Learn more at: http://thinkchecksubmit.org or watch this short video:

 

Think. Check. Submit. from Think. Check. Submit. on Vimeo.

Evaluating Journals

This part of our Scholarly Communications guide is not designed to tell you where to publish but has some suggestions for tools & resources you can use to evaluate journals you may want to publish your research in:

  • Journal Citation Reports  (JCR)-based on the Web of Science Core Collection, it is a comprehensive and unique resource that allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from more than 20,000 scholarly and technical journals, including more than 2,000 open access journals. It is a source of citation data on journals and includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences. Journal Citation Reports can show you the:

    • Most frequently cited journals in a field
    • Highest impact journals in a field (journal impact factors based on the previous 2-year or 5-year average)
    • Citation and article counts --important indicators of how frequently current researchers are using individual journals. By tabulating and aggregating citation and article counts, JCR offers a unique perspective for journal evaluation and comparison. [Note: requires your My.GeorgiaSouthern.edu login]

 

  • Scopus (New in 2024!) - an extensive abstract and citation database covering a wide range of scientific disciplines. It includes peer-reviewed literature from journals, conference proceedings, and patents. Scopus provides researchers, academics, and institutions with access to a vast collection of scholarly literature, allowing them to search, track, and analyze research outputs. It offers advanced search capabilities, citation analysis tools, and metrics like the h-index to evaluate individual researchers or institutions' impact and productivity. [learn more]

  • SCImago Journal & Country Ranks (SJR)

    • The SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a publicly available portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database (Elsevier B.V.). These indicators can be used to assess and analyze scientific domains. Journals can be compared or analyzed separately. 

    • This platform takes its name from the SCImago Journal Rank (SJR) indicator (PDF), developed by SCImago from the widely known algorithm Google PageRank™. and calculates weighted citations in a given year based on publications in the 3 previous years. This indicator reflects the visibility of the journals contained in the Scopus® database from 1996. The platform includes more than 15,000 titles, including 4500+ open access journals (as of Oct. 2018).

  • COPE (Committee on Publishing Ethics)

    • View the member list of publishers & journal editors and associate members at the COPE (Committee on Publication Ethics) website

    • View COPE's Core Practices

  • World Association of Medical Editors (WAME) - journal list

  • For more information about impact factors and other bibliometric data, see the Measuring Research Impact page in this guide.