Special Collections Training Manual: Finding Aids in Georgia Southern Commons
Finding Aids are created and edited in the Specolle Shared Drive. When they have been reviewed by the Special Collections librarian they are able to be posted to Georgia Southern Commons. Georgia Southern Commons provides researchers access to the Finding Aid by making them discoverable across library systems and through major search engines like Google.
How Finding Aids Appear in Georgia Southern Commons
Finding Aids are listed alphabetically by collection name. The brief item record on browsing pages include the collection title, thumbnail, abstract, and link to the catalog record.
When a research clicks on the title of the collection, they will view the full record page for the Finding Aid. This page includes additional information about the collection as well as a "Download" button where the researcher can view the full text of the Finding Aid
How Finding Aids Appear in Catalog Records (via Georgia Southern Commons)
Finding Aids that are posted in Georgia Southern Commons will also be accessible through catalog records. Users will see a Finding Aid icon at the top of the page which will take them directly to the repository.
Submitting a New Finding Aid to Georgia Southern Commons
BEFORE YOU BEGIN
- Go to the revised Finding Aid in Google Drive.
- Download this Finding Aid as a PDF (File > Download> PDF Document.) Be sure the conversion has not distorted any of the contents.
REVISING MATERIALS IN FINDING AID COLLECTION
Go to digitalcommons.georgiasouthern.edu/finding-aids/
- Select “My Account” and log in with the credentials provided
- Locate the Finding Aids collection on your dashboard
- Click on the Upload link in the Finding Aids collection area (shown)
.
SUBMISSION FIELDS
Please note: <field> corresponds with an element in the revised Finding Aid. Refer to these sections for data value.
| GEORGIA SOUTHERN COMMONS FIELD | DATA VALUE |
|---|---|
| Title | <title> |
| Accession | Ignore |
| Author |
Use the author search tool to find "Zach S. Henderson Library Special Collections" Click on the name to select it. |
| Document Type | Finding Aid |
| Collection Abstract |
<Scope and Content> Find this collection in the libraries' catalog. Link this text to the appropriate catalog record permalink |
| Date of Gift | <Acquisition Information> |
| Start Date | <Extent> |
| End Date | <Extent> |
| Keywords | <Access Points> separate by comma |
| Disciplines | Select all as appropriate |
| Scope of Collection |
<extent> separate with a line <Acquisitions Information> |
| Copyright | Ignore |
| Additional Files | Ignore |
| Update Book | Ignore |
| Subject Headings |
Ignore
|
| Hierarchy Keywords | Academic Units, University Libraries, Special Collections, Finding Aids |
SUBMISSION & DOCUMENTATION
- Click Submit
- Click “Update IR_Book” on the left navigation.
- Document the change in the Finding Aid Conversion Project or Processing document by providing your initials in the appropriate column.
Revising Finding Aids in Georgia Southern Commons
BEFORE YOU BEGIN
- Go to the revised Finding Aid in Google Drive.
- Download this Finding Aid as a PDF (File > Download> PDF Document.) Be sure the conversion has not distorted any of the contents.
REVISING MATERIALS IN FINDING AID COLLECTION
Go to digitalcommons.georgiasouthern.edu/finding-aids/
- Select “My Account” and log in with the credentials provided
- Return to the URL above.
- Locate the Finding Aid to be modified in Georgia Southern Commons. (Finding aids are listed in alphabetical order by title. They can also be found using the search box provided.)
- Click on the hyperlinked title of the Finding Aid in order to pull up the full Georgia Southern Commons record.
- Click “Edit Book” that appears at the bar across the top of the page.
- Select “Revise Book” from the left navigation bar.
SUBMISSION FIELDS
Please note: <field> corresponds with an element in the revised Finding Aid. Refer to these sections for data value.
| GEORGIA SOUTHERN COMMONS FIELD | DATA VALUE |
|---|---|
| Title | <title> |
| Accession | Ignore |
| Author |
Delete the current author "University Libraries, Zach S. Henderson library by clicking on the red x. |
| Document Type | Finding Aid |
| Collection Abstract |
<Scope and Content> Find this collection in the libraries' catalog. Link this text to the appropriate catalog record permalink |
| Date of Gift | <Acquisition Information> |
| Start Date | <Extent> |
| End Date | <Extent> |
| Keywords | <Access Points> separate by comma |
| Disciplines | Select all as appropriate |
| Scope of Collection |
<extent> separate with a line <Acquisitions Information> |
| Copyright | Ignore |
| Additional Files | Ignore |
| Update Book | Ignore |
| Subject Headings |
Ignore
|
| Hierarchy Keywords | Academic Units, University Libraries, Special Collections, Finding Aids |
SUBMISSION & DOCUMENTATION
- Click Submit
- Click “Update IR_Book” on the left navigation.
- Document the change in the Finding Aid Conversion Project or Processing document by providing your initials in the appropriate column.