Special Collections Training Manual: Final Steps

1. Login to LibApps using credentials provided. 

2. Select LibAnswers from the menu at the top left of the page. 

3. Using the "Answers" drop down menu, click "Create" to generate a new ticket. 

4. Create a ticket using the following values:

Queue: Special Collections
Question: Collection Title (as it is currently known in the catalog)
Question Details: Provide a brief description of what has been done to the collection and what is needed to update/create a catalog record for the collection.
Asked By: Name, Title
Asked By: specolle@georgiasouthern.edu

5. The next screen will show you how the ticket appears in the queue. If you need to edit the ticket for clarity, use the gear icon on the right side of the screen to change the content of the ticket. Be sure to "Unclaim" the ticket unless you are currently working on this item.
 

6. Once you have unclaimed a ticket, be sure to Assign/Transfer the ticket to the correct Librarian. Select the "Assign/Transfer" tab and select the radio button next to the librarian needed (Hint: Cataloging requests go to Skinner Debra). Assign the appropriate Tags to the ticket by typing in the first part of the word and clicking "Add."

7. Once you are satisfied with the tags, scroll to the bottom of the page and either "Submit as Open" or "Submit as New" 
 

Misplaced Records/Files
Processors should inspect their work area, as well as the collection’s original storage location, making certain that all files, volumes, items, and boxes of records have been accounted for, processed, and returned to their proper location within the collection. Processors should go back to the collection’s existing documentation, especially the survey and processing plan, to ensure that all records were included in processing. Processors should consult with staff as well as their supervisor if they discover material not accounted for in their arrangement and finding aid.

Collection Dates
After processing, it is common for a collection’s inclusive and/or bulk dates to change. Processors, should review their collection inventory, or folder list, and make sure that the inclusive and/or bulk dates recorded at the collection, series, and/or subseries levels reflect the earliest and latest dates identified in the folder list.

Box and Folder Numbers
It is easy to make mistakes in assigning box and folder numbers when working quickly! Verifying the accuracy of box and folder numbers can be completed during data entry. After completely entering each box, processors should count the folders in the box and compare the number of folders to the number recorded on the last physical folder as well as in the finding aid.

Collection Extent
Though the collection was measured during the survey, it likely grew or shrank during processing. Once a collection is completely processed and shelved, processors should re-measure the collection in 2 ways:

Linear footage:
There are many ways to calculate linear feet. Processors should measure linear feet by measuring each container and volume in the direction papers are stacked. 

Container/Volume/Item count:
Processors should count and record the number of containers, loose volumes, and items in the collection. Foldered and boxed volume(s) and/or item(s) should NOT be counted separately as part of the volume(s) and/or item(s) count. Significant collections of slides should include an approximate slide count; 35 mm slides average 20 slides per inch and 120 mm (medium format) slides average 17 per inch.