ART 4831 - Capstone in Studio Art: Find Special Collections at Zach S. Henderson Library

The Zach S. Henderson Library’s Special Collections Department was founded in the 1970s. Housed within the department are rare books, manuscript collections, and artifacts relating to the history of the Statesboro region and Georgia Southern University. Popular collections include the Bulloch County Historical Society Collection, the Lucile Hodges Collection, the Marvin S. Pittman Collection, and the Charles Holmes Herty Collection.

To conduct research or view materials, please Schedule a Research Appointment using the online form.  Research appointments are available Monday through Friday, 8AM - 5PM.

Location
Room 2210M, Second-Floor, Zach S. Henderson Library. 
Diving directions

Contact

Autumn Johnson, Special Collections Librarian 

• Email: specolle@georgiasouthern.edu

• Phone: (912) 478-7819

• Fax: (912) 478-0289

• Physical Address: 1400 Southern Drive, Building 208, Statesboro, GA 30458

• Mailing Address: Zach S. Henderson Library Special Collections, P.O. Box 8074, Georgia Southern University, Statesboro, GA 30460-8074

Browse Finding Aid Collection

Many of the collections have finding aids or container lists to help you discover materials. Finding Aids can be found in the Special Collections Reading Room, in Georgia Southern Commons, or integrated through the Library Catalog. 

A Finding Aid contains a listing of the collection's contents and their location within Special Collections. It will often describe and summarize the contents of a collection including aspects of its arrangement; the scope of its subject matter; organizations and persons of relevancy; and its chronology.

Digitally-born and digitized Special Collections materials are housed in the University's Georgia Southern Commons platform. Collections include Campus Publications, the Bulloch County Historical Society Collection, and the Peace Officers Association of Georgia Collection.