ART 4831 - Capstone in Studio Art: Find Local History
Statesboro Regional Public Library
Genealogy Room
Statesboro Regional Public Libraries Genealogy Department's collection includes:
- Family histories
- County histories
- Cemetery surveys
- Indexes and abstracts of marriages, wills, deeds, land plats and church histories.
Bulloch County, Georgia Cemeteries Index
Index to all cemetery surveys which were produced in Bulloch County up to about 1980. If you do not know where an ancestor is buried, you can simply look up the name, and the index will lead you to the cemetery and the volume which contains the survey. Compiled by Henrietta Royal.
Bulloch County Obituaries
From the mid-1970s to the present are available in an alphabetical card file.
"Old Houses of Bulloch County"
Compiled by Merry Weeders Garden Club and presented to the Statesboro Regional Library in 1978. Material for the three-part series, “Old Houses in Bulloch County,” came from the Statesboro Eagle, The Bulloch Times, The Bulloch Herald, The Statesboro News, Leodel Coleman’s Statesboro – A Century of Progress and Bulloch County Historical Files.
Bulloch County Historical Society
Bulloch County Historical Society
Founded in 1974, the Bulloch County Historical Society is dedicated to educating the community about the rich history of Bulloch County with various society-sponsored Programs. The society is dedicated to the idea that knowledge of the history of one’s community is basic to our democratic way of life. It gives us a better understanding of our state and nation and promotes a greater appreciation of our heritage.
National Register of Historic Places (NPS)
The National Register of Historic Places (NRHP) is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Most records are maintained by the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), which are researchable.
Documentation consists of:
- National Register registration form, which provides a physical description of the place, information about its history and significance, and a bibliography.
- Photographs
- Maps
Other Local Collections
- Georgia Historical Society As a non-university research and educational institution, the Georgia Historical Society has collected, preserved, and shared some of the most important documents, rare books, maps, photographs, and artifacts that tell the story of our state’s journey through time. The cornerstones of the collection are Hodgson Hall, the National Historic Landmark building that serves as the GHS Research Center, and the impressive group of manuscripts, rare books, and archival materials housed in the adjacent Abrahams Archival Annex. The collection includes more than 4 million manuscripts, 100,000 photographs, 30,000 architectural drawings, 15,000 books, and thousands of maps, newspapers, portraits, and artifacts. The papers of many influential Georgians, including Griffin Bell, Vince Dooley, Benjamin Hawkins, Helen Dortch Longstreet, Juliette Gordon Low, and Bernie Marcus, are held in the society’s collections. Perhaps the most significant document in the collection is an original draft copy of the U.S. Constitution that belonged to Abraham Baldwin, a Georgia delegate to the national constitutional convention of 1787.
- City of Savannah: Municipal Archives & Records Management The Municipal Archives & Records Management division: Collects, manages preserves and makes accessible records documenting the City of Savannah's history Administers the records management program and the City Records Center to increase the efficiency of City agencies Shares the City's history with City employees, citizens and visitors through outreach activities
- Catholic Diocese of Savannah: Archives & Records Department The mission of the Archives & Records Department is to administer the Archives & Records program which manages records created by the Diocese of Savannah; to serve as the institutional repository for records of historical and enduring value; and to promote an understanding of the Catholic Church, her history, and her heritage in South Georgia. The department is erected in accordance with Canon 482.
- Kaye Kole Genealogy & Local History Room The Kaye Kole Genealogy & Local History Room, located at the Bull Street Library, serves as a resource center for non-circulating material on the history and genealogy of Georgia and Savannah. Non-fragile items from this room, including microfilm, are available to the public for in-house use. If you have questions or would like help pulling items prior to your visit, please call during hours of operation.
- Savannah State University Special Collections Special Collections at Asa H. Gordon Library has been established to collect, organize, describe, preserve, and make available University materials of permanent institutional and historical value. Special Collections will further encourage the dissemination of knowledge pertaining to the origins of programs and goals of the University by providing facilities for the retention, preservation, servicing, and research of Savannah State University documents. In addition, Special Collections will serve as a research source for the study of the University’s history by members of the University community and the scholarly community at large.
- Digital Library of Georgia This link opens in a new windowGeorgia history and culture through digitized books, primary sources, photos, and video (more...).
- Georgia Historic Newspapers Archive This link opens in a new windowGeorgia historical newspapers (more...).
- Georgia Department of Archives & History This link opens in a new windowGeorgia Department of Archives & History website (more...).
