Special Collections at Georgia Southern University Libraries

Researchers need to register with the department and provide a picture ID (Eagle ID, driver’s license, or passport). The registration form describes the special conditions under which Special Collections may be handled, used, or copied.

Library staff provides access to Special Collections materials and research assistance in-person or by email, phone, or fax. Researchers may request in-person assistance during operational hours.​ In order to keep secure and preserve the materials collected in Special Collections, all researchers, including administrators, faculty, staff, students, and alumni are asked to observe the following rules:

• All Special Collections materials must be used in the respective reading room open Monday through Friday from 8:00PM-5:00PM. Materials may not be checked out or circulated.

• Please be patient. If you did not make an appointment prior to your visit, the materials you are requesting may be housed in the Libraries' ARC (pictured) located on the second floor of Henderson Library. If you will be returning several times to complete your research, the materials you have requested may be kept out for you.

• Only one box of a collection may be used at a time. Only one item or folder may be removed from a box. Replace the item or folder before removing another.

• Materials are arranged in a specific manner which will make your research easier. The arrangement of folders and the materials within folders must be preserved. When removing a folder from a box, use the insert provided to mark its place.

• Materials must be handled with care. You may be asked to put on provided cotton gloves or to wash your hands before handling materials. This is to help protect materials.

• Only pencils may be used for taking notes.

• Digital scans of materials may be obtained from Special Collections staff using the Reproduction Request Form. Depending on the number of scans requested, you may be asked to wait 48 hours or longer for the job to be completed. Special Collections staff have the right to refuse the scanning of materials due to size, condition or copyright restrictions. Photocopies may also be requested.