Institutional Repository Services
Faculty Research
In addition to our conferences and journals, Georgia Southern Commons hosts a vast array of faculty research from across the University. Collections include our department and college-level faculty publication, presentation, and bookshelf series, funded research archive sites, and artifact collections from active and legacy research projects.
Examples include:
- Department-level publications series: Department of Management
- Department-level presentations series: Logistics & Supply Chain Management
- Department-level book series: Department of History
- Funded research archive site: CEMITURE
- Research artifact collection: Waddie Welcome Archive - Savannah Signs Project
- Open Educational Resources: ESED 5234
- Replication dataset in fulfillment of publisher's data sharing requirements
To get started hosting and sharing your research, contact the Georgia Southern Commons Team for an initial project evaluation and consultation.
Memorandum of Understanding
All faculty research-related curation services are provided free or charge; however, where appropriate, we do ask that collection sponsors agree to a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) as a condition of hosting their resources in Georgia Southern Commons. During the setup of your collection, the Georgia Southern Commons Team will review whether an MOU is needed. If so, the Team will review the terms of the MOU with you and make any needed revisions.
- Memorandum of Understanding for Georgia Southern Commons s CollectionsPDF version of Memorandum of Understanding for Georgia Southern Commons Collections. Intended audience: collection sponsors.
Copyright and Reuse Licensing Considerations for Faculty Research
The Georgia Southern Commons Team strongly recommends use of Creative Commons licenses when archiving and sharing your research via any open-access digital repository, including Georgia Southern Commons. We strongly recommend faculty inform themselves about their copyrights and how these relate to open-access repositories by reviewing our Author Rights & Self-Archiving guide, and by requesting a consultation or workshop with the Georgia Southern Commons Team. During setup of your research collection, the Georgia Southern Commons Team will help you to develop copyright and reuse licensing that fits your needs. For existing collections, we are happy to help review your policies at any time.
Removing or Modifying Works in Georgia Southern Commons
The Georgia Southern University Libraries make every effort to ensure that all works submitted to Georgia Southern Commons are archived and disseminated in accordance with United States copyright law, University policy, and the wishes of content creators. The Georgia Southern Commons Team does not have the authority to alter the content of any works published in the institutional repository.
If for any reason you believe that a work included in Georgia Southern Commons should be removed or modified, please contact the Georgia Southern Commons Team at digitalcommons@georgiasouthern.edu. A member of the Georgia Southern Commons Team will contact you as soon as possible during regular business hours.
Liaison and Presenter Tools
- Georgia Southern Commons BrochurePDF version of Georgia Southern Commons brochure. Request press quality copies at CSD. Intended audience: all.
- Memorandum of Understanding for Georgia Southern Commons CollectionsPDF version of Memorandum of Understanding for Georgia Southern Commons Collections. Intended audience: collection sponsors.
- Data Management Services BrochurePDF version of Data Management Services brochure. Request press quality copies at C&RS. Intended audience: faculty and graduate students.
For help, contact the Georgia Southern Commons Team at digitalcommons@georgiasouthern.edu. A member of the Georgia Southern Commons Team will respond as soon as possible during regular business hours.