About HIST 3030: History of Mexico (Spring 2022)
Undergraduate students in HIST 3030: History of Mexico were responsible for researching and creating this digital exhibition using materials of Mexican origin in the Henderson Library Special Collections' Latin American & Caribbean collection. The goal of the exhibition was to introduce the Georgia Southern community to the new collection and provide helpful historical context and original interpretations of the material that can educate visitors and encourage future student research on interesting and in some cases unique historical artifacts.
At the end of the semester, students showcased their work in a pop-up exhibition before the performance of the Ballet Folklórico de Los Angeles on Saturday, April 30 at the Georgia Southern Performing Arts Center. Undergraduates involved in curatorial activities include Jessica Benitez, Noah Crawford, Georgia Dowling, Luke Freet, Sara Gravley, Alexander Greco, Lawrence Heber, Madison Mintz, Tyler Mitchell, Enzo Montero, Jake Phelps, and Bradley Stoker.
The Latin America & Caribbean collection
The Latin American & Caribbean collection, assembled by Dr. Corinna Zeltsman of Georgia Southern University in Summer 2021, consists of items from Latin America and the Caribbean dating from 1692 to 1985. Materials include political pamphlets, newsletters, ephemera, sheet music, published books, and other materials. The subject matter includes U.S.-Latin American relations, popular culture, and revolutions.
The collection was partially supported by a Georgia Southern University Faculty Development Grant.
- Latin America & Caribbean Collection Finding Aid This collection contains finding aids and container lists for materials in the Zach S. Henderson Library Special Collections. A Finding Aid contains a listing of the collection's contents and their location within Special Collections. It will often describe and summarize the contents of a collection including aspects of its arrangement; the scope of its subject matter; organizations and persons of relevancy; and its chronology.
- Latin America & Caribbean Collection Catalog Record (GIL-Find) Most Special Collections items (including books, maps, ephemera, photographs, and manuscript collections) are described in the Library Catalog. The catalog provides summary descriptions of holdings, many of which are more fully described in separate finding aids.
Special Collections at Georgia Southern University Libraries
Special Collections at Georgia Southern University Libraries have been established to collect, organize, describe, preserve, and make available materials of permanent institutional and historical value to the University and the local community. Collections span both the Armstrong and Statesboro campuses and include personal papers, organizational records, photographs, campus publications, ephemera, rare books, and digitally-born materials.
Visit the Special Collections website for more information on how to conduct research or click on the image to the right to download the printable brochure.
About HIST 7635: Readings in Latin American (Fall 2021)
The Latin American & Caribbean collection was initially processed as part of HIST 7635: Readings in Latin American History course requirements under Dr. Corinna Zeltsman, Instructor of Record; Autumn Johnson, Special Collections Librarian; Willow Farmer, Special Collections Assistant, 2021. Graduate students involved in processing activities include Conor Busby, Stephen Cravey, Blaine Wheeler, Eric Thompson, Jaret Carpenter, Jaycee Thomas, Tyler Hendrix, Alyssa Watrous, and Kim Liebl.
In addition to processing the collection, graduate students developed proposals for outreach projects that engaged one or more communities while promoting the collection at Georgia Southern. Proposals demonstrated awareness of archival outreach projects that might serve as possible models or sources of inspiration.