How to Find Primary Sources - HIST 2110 - US Comprehensive Survey - Library Guides at Georgia Southern University

What is a Primary Source?

A primary source is generally defined as document or physical object which was written or created during the time under study. These sources were present during an experience or time period and offer an inside view of a particular event. Depending on your research topic and perspective, primary sources can include:

Original Documents (autobiographies, personal correspondence and diaries, speeches and oral histories, newspapers, government documents, audio and video recordings, photographs, and maps)
Creative Works (Art, drama, poetry, music, novels)
Relics or Artifacts

[American Press Association. Suffrage Parade, New York City, May 6, 1912." World Digital Library.]

Using Good Sources to Find More Good Sources

If you are reading a book or article that is on your topic, check the bibliography to see if the author found any sources that might be of useful to you.

Popular Digital Collections

Suggested Library Databases

ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
Descriptions, finding aids, archival collections (more...).
Civil Rights Digital Library This link opens in a new window
American Civil Rights Movement; images; movies; articles (more...).
Library of Congress Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
Primary sources, images, maps, American history (more...).
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new window
Brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. (more...).
Women's Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library: Voting Rights, National Politics, and Reproductive Rights This link opens in a new window
Women's history, primary sources (more...).
World Digital Library (WDL) This link opens in a new window
Primary resources, world history (more...).

Additional Archival Databases
Additional Historical Newspaper Databases

Presidential Libraries

Presidential Libraries are repositories for the papers, records and historical materials of the Presidents. The Presidential Libraries work to ensure that these irreplaceable items are preserved and made available for the widest possible use by researchers.