Skip to main content

Institutional Repository Services

Student Research

Willio Hill ObitDigital Commons@Georgia Southern hosts a vast array of student research from across the University. Collections include the University's collection of electronic theses and dissertations, honors theses, artifacts from the annual Georgia Southern Research Symposium, and artifact collections from student research projects.

Examples include:

Faculty and graduate students interested in hosting student research collections in Digital Commons@Georgia Southern are invited to contact the Digital Commons Team for an initial project evaluation and consultation. Furthermore, contact the Digital Commons Team with questions or concerns about any existing student research collections, including submission support.


Memorandum of Understanding

All student research-related curation services are provided free or charge; however, where appropriate, we do ask that collection sponsors agree to a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) as a condition of hosting their resources in Digital Commons@Georgia Southern. During the setup of your collection, the Digital Commons Team will review whether an MOU is needed. If so, the Team will review the terms of the MOU with you and make any needed revisions.


Copyright and Reuse Licensing Considerations for Student Research

The Digital Commons Team strongly recommends use of Creative Commons licenses when archiving and sharing student research via any open-access digital repository, including Digital Commons@Georgia Southern. We strongly recommend students and coordinating faculty inform themselves about their copyrights and how these relate to open-access repositories by reviewing our Author Rights & Self-Archiving guide, and by requesting a consultation with the Digital Commons Team. During setup of your research collection, the Digital Commons Team will help you to develop copyright and reuse licensing that fits your needs. For existing collections, we are happy to help review current policies with collection sponsors any time.

Removing or Modifying Works in Digital Commons

The Georgia Southern University Libraries make every effort to ensure that all works submitted to Digital Commons@Georgia Southern are archived and disseminated in accordance with United States copyright law, University policy, and the wishes of content creators. The Digital Commons Team does not have the authority to alter the content of any works published in the institutional repository. 

If for any reason you believe that a work included in Digital Commons should be removed or modified, please contact the Digital Commons Team at (912) 478-4056 or digitalcommons@georgiasouthern.edu.  A member of the Digital Commons Team will contact you as soon as possible during regular business hours.


Liaison and Presenter Tools

 

For help, contact the Digital Commons Team at (912) 478-4056 or digitalcommons@georgiasouthern.edu. A member of the Digital Commons Team will contact you as soon as possible during regular business hours.