Skip to main content

The Gordon Riots Mapped

Bibliography

Primary Sources:

Gazetteer and New Daily Advertiser (London, England), Wednesday, June 7, 1780; Issue 16 012. 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers.

General Evening Post (London, England), June 3, 1780 - June 6, 1780; Issue 7218. 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers.

General Evening Post (London, England), June 6, 1780 - June 8, 1780; Issue 7219. 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers.

General Evening Post (London, England), June 8, 1780 - June 10, 1780; Issue 7220. 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers.

London Chronicle (London, England), June 3, 1780 - June 6, 1780; Issue 3667. 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers.

London Chronicle (London, England), June 6, 1780 - June 8, 1780; Issue 3668. 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers.

London Courant and Westminster Chronicle (London, England), Friday, June 9, 1780. 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers.

London Courant and Westminster Chronicle (London, England), Monday, June 5, 1780. 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers.

London Courant and Westminster Chronicle (London, England), Saturday, June 3, 1780. 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers.

London Courant and Westminster Chronicle (London, England), Wednesday, June 7, 1780. 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers. 

London Evening Post (London, England), June 3, 1780 - June 6, 1780; Issue 9074. 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers.

London Evening Post (London, England), June 8, 1780 - June 10, 1780; Issue 9075. 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers.

Morning Chronicle and London Advertiser (London, England), Friday, June 9, 1780; Issue 3451. 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers.

St. James's Chronicle or the British Evening Post (London, England), June 1, 1780 - June 3, 1780; Issue 2999. 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers.

St. James's Chronicle or the British Evening Post (London, England), June 6, 1780 - June 8, 1780; Issue 3001. 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers.

St. James's Chronicle or the British Evening Post (London, England), June 8, 1780 - June 10, 1780; Issue 3002. 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers.

Whitehall Evening Post (1770) (London, England), June 3, 1780 - June 6, 1780; Issue 5329. 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers.

Whitehall Evening Post (1770) (London, England), June 6, 1780 - June 8, 1780; Issue 5330. 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers.

Whitehall Evening Post (1770) (London, England), June 8, 1780 - June 10, 1780; Issue 5331. 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers.

Secondary Sources

Black, Jeremy. Eighteenth-Century Britain, 1688-1783. Houndmills, Basingstoke, Hampshire: Palgrave Macmillan, 2008.

Colley, Linda. Britons: Forging the Nation: 1707-1837. 1992. New Haven, CT: Yale University Press. 1992.

Haywood, Ian, and John Seed. The Gordon riots: politics, culture and insurrection in late eighteenth-century Britain. Cambridge, UK: Cambridge University Press. 2012.

Hibbert, Christopher. King Mob: The Story of Lord George Gordon and the Riots of 1780. London: Longmans, Green, 1958.

Langford, Paul. Public Life and the Propertied Englishman, 1689-1798. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1991.

Laprade, William Thomas. Public Opinion and Politics in Eighteenth Century England to the Fall of Walpole. New York: Octagon Books, 1977.