Routledge Handbook of the Chinese Diaspora by
With around 40 illion people worldwide, the ethnic Chinese and the Chinese in diaspora form the largest diaspora in the world. The economic reform of China which began in the late 1970s marked a huge phase of migration from China, and the new migrants, many of whom were well educated, have had a major impact on the local societies and on China. This is the first interdisciplinary Handbook to examine the Chinese diaspora, and provides a comprehensive analysis of the processes and effects of Chinese migration under the headings of: Population and distribution Mainland China and Taiwan's policies on the Chinese overseas Migration: past and present Economic and political involvement Localization, transnational networks and identity Education, literature and media The Routledge Handbook of the Chinese Diaspora brings together a significant number of specialists from a number of diverse disciplines and covers the major areas of the study of Chinese overseas. This Handbook is therefore an important and valuable reference work for students, scholars and policy makers worldwide who wish to understand the global phenomena of Chinese migration, transnational connections and their cultural and identity transformation.
Diaspora, Law and Literature by
The well-known challenges of international migration have triggered new departures in academic approaches, with 'diaspora studies' evolving as an interdisciplinary and even transdisciplinary field of study. Its emerging methodology shares concerns with another interdisciplinary field, the study of the relations between law and literature, which focuses on the ways in which the two cultural practices of law and literature mutually negotiate each other and on the question after the ontological commensurability of the domains. This volume offers, for the first time, an attempt to provide an interface between these overlapping interdisciplinary endeavours of literary studies, legal studies, and diaspora studies. In doing so, it explores new approaches and invites new perspectives on diasporas, migration and the disciplines that study them, hopefull also adding to the cultural resources of coping with a swiftly changing social landscape in a globalizing world.
Israel and the Diaspora: Jewish Connectivity in a Changing World by
This collected volume is based on the proceedings of a symposium held in 2018 at York University, Canada, which was held to commemorate the 70th anniversary of Israel. This symposium highlighted contemporary Jewish identity, Israel-Diaspora relations, and how Jewish life has been transformed in light of various types of antisemitism. The book considers the diasporic Jewish experiences through examining the intersections between various Jewish communities sociologically, historically, and geographically. The text covers world Jewry in general, and each of the diaspora and Israeli Jewries more specifically in the context of mutual responsibility, but also focuses on areas of tension concerning values and political matters. The challenges of antisemitism, racism, and nationalism are explored in terms of the relationship of the Jewish diasporas to their host countries. This text also covers antisemitism, which may take the form of traditional antisemitism or of the new antisemitism in the era of anti-Israel activity related to the Boycott, Divestment, and Sanctions movement. The latter movement is especially prevalent on university campuses and has an impact on students, faculty, and staff. This volume is unique in its international perspective in examining issues of Jewish identity, Israel-diaspora relations, and antisemitism and will appeal to students and researchers working in the field.
Continuing Perspectives on the Black Diaspora by
Continuing Perspectives on the Black Diaspora is a response to a 1990 publication that studied the persistence and resilience of black (African) diasporic populations in the Caribbean, Latin America, North America, and the United Kingdom. In that book, the authors used the themes of persistence and resilience to interrogate the social processes and the coping repertoire of these diasporic populations. This volume investigates the often-overlooked African presence in Asia. Researchers sought to determine how many of these diasporic populations have fared in the context of political independence, globalization / economic marginalization, and the presence of ethnic conflict and institutional racism, even with positive class formations and declining significance of race in other geographical areas. Prescriptions for the continued viability of these diasporic populations are provided. India and China are undergoing a global renaissance, emerging as potentially significant economic, political, and cultural actors on the world scene. Meanwhile, ancestral Africa is still socially, politically, and economically fragmented, thereby causing a new migratory 'push' to North America and Europe.
To find books and other materials housed in the library, use the Library's catalog. The GIL-Find Catalog allows you to search for Books, eBooks, DVDs, and other materials housed in our libraries.
Can't find what you need? To identify materials held at other USG Libraries, select "University System of Georgia" from the drop-down menu when searching. Use our Gil-Express service to have materials sent to Zach S. Henderson Library.
To identify materials beyond our library, use the Worldcat and our Interlibrary Loan services.
WorldCat is the world's most comprehensive bibliography containing millions of bibliographic records cataloged by OCLC member libraries. It includes books, websites and internet resources, manuscripts, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films and slides, newspapers, journals and magazines, sound recordings, articles, chapters, papers, and videotapes. WorldCat is available using two different user interfaces:
WorldCat FirstSearch
WorldCat's legacy user interface.
WorldCat.org
Public-domain version of WorldCat, available on the open web.
Library of Congress (LOC) Subject Headings are umbrella terms or phrases used to classify information on a certain subject. If you find a useful Subject Heading in the Gil-Find Catalog, you'll be able to see all the other items assigned to that heading. However, Subject Headings have unique structures and can therefore be difficult to find. Here are some ideas for searching the GIL-Find catalog:
Think of the best keywords to enter and be ready to change them as you pursue your topic. Try using a subject encyclopedia or dictionary for specialized terminology. Get ideas for new keywords by carefully examining the subject fields in your first results.
Try these search features:
Most General history materials have D call numbers and are shelved on the third-floor. These sections are further subdivided:
D History (General)
DA History of Great Britain
DA900-995 Ireland
DA938-966.2 Modern, 1603
DA949.5 The Union, 1800
DA949.7-965 19th-20th centuries. Irish question