HIST 4635 - Senior Seminar - SWANSON: Find Government Information

Zach S. Henderson Library is a Congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law. Government information is housed on the first-floor of the library. 

The Freedom of Information Act has required federal agencies to make certain categories of records"available for public inspection and copying." Subsequently, the Electronic Freedom of Information Act Amendments of 1996 required the creation of virtual reading rooms:

• Central Intelligence Agency (CIA)
• Department of Defense: Executive Services Directorate
• Department of Homeland Security
• Department of Justice
• Department of State
• Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)
• National Archives
• National Security Agency (NSA)

Data.gov
Data.gov is a citizen-friendly platform that provides access to Federal datasets. With a searchable data catalog, Data.gov helps the public find, access, and download non-sensitive Government data and tools in a variety of formats.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
A comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.

U.S. Census Bureau & American Fact Finder
The U.S. Census Bureau offers the most comprehensive demographic data for the United States. The site includes information and statistics on the nation's population, housing, business and manufacturing activity, international trade, farming, and state and local governments. 

U.S. Government Printing Office (FDSys)
Provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. 

Georgia Government Publications
The GGP provides a comprehensive repository of state publications 1994 to the present, and project participants are actively scanning documents printed before 1994 to provide researchers with a valuable source for online historical research.

The Georgia Department of Community Affairs (DCA)
Advocate for our state’s communities since its creation in 1977. In 1996, the Governor and General Assembly merged the Georgia Housing and Finance Authority (GHFA) into DCA, and the job of providing safe and affordable housing became part of the agency’s mission

Georgia Department of Natural Resources, Historic Preservation Division
Provides financial and architectural assistance for the restoration of historic structures, reviews current development projects to consider their impact on archeological resources, protects resources on state-owned properties, and supports the National Register of Historic Places.

Georgia Data
Georgia county and state data, maintained by the Carl Vinson Institute of Government at UGA. Georgia Legislative Documents Legislation for the State of Georgia back to 1755, with a few gaps.

Georgia.gov 
State of Georgia site for searching for state agencies, resources, and other information. 

Georgia State Agencies
Alphabetical list of Georgia state government agencies.

OpenGeorgia.gov
Annually updated database of information on how state revenues are spent on services to Georgians.