Browse by call numbers, books are on the 3rd and 4th floors of Henderson Library.
| GT 500 - 2370 | Costume. Dress. Fashion |
| HD 9720 - 9975 | Manufacturing industries |
| HF 1 - 6182 | Commerce |
| NK 4700 - 4890 | Costumes |
| NK 8800 - 9505.5 | Textile |
| TS 1300 - 1865 | Textile industries |
| TT 490 - 695 | Clothing manufacture. Dressmaking. Tailoring |
The Essential Guide to Business for Artists and Designers by
This second edition of the best-selling, comprehensive handbook The Essential Guide to Business for Artists and Designers will appeal to a wide range of artists, makers, designers, and photographers looking to set up and establish an arts practice or design business within the visual arts and creative industries. With fully revised content, three new chapters, and profiles of contemporary artists and designers from around the world, this guide leads the reader through the most important aspects of setting up and growing a profitable enterprise.Providing the vital knowledge and tools to develop a vision and achieve business growth, topics include:- Building networks and successful negotiation tactics - Promoting an engaging social media presence- Business planning and money management- Overview of legal, tax and intellectual property issues- Setting up a website and trading online- Exploiting innovation and future trends As well as specially tailored enterprise exercises and useful diagrams, this latest edition features apt quotations and indispensable resources including an extensive glossary and a list of key professional bodies and organisations based in the UK, USA, Canada, Australia and South America.This handbook is printed in a dyslexic-friendly font and includes new illustrated mind maps and colour pictures throughout.
A Pocket Business Guide for Artists and Designers by
This handy pocket guide contains 100 useful things that artists and designers should know before embarking on careers in the arts.
Portfolio Presentation for Fashion Designers by
Portfolio Presentation for Fashion Designers, Fourth Edition, is still your best guide to showing your designs, skill sets, and creativity, to get you that job. In new images throughout, the book shows examples of croquis books, spec and flat drawings, and visual research presentations from both fashion professionals and students. From concept through finished product, Portfolio Presentation for Fashion Designers is an indispensable tool to help you prepare your career for the next chapter. New to this edition · Helpful Hints at the end of each chapter help you to make critical decisions · Expanded Glossary now features knitwear terms · Introduces how to develop a successful fashion portfolio · Expanded discussion and examples of visual research presentation layouts
Style Wise: a practical guide to becoming a fashion stylist. by
Style Wise: A Practical Guide to Becoming a Fashion Stylist is an essential step-by-step guide and reference tool for anyone interested or involved in professional styling. The book paints a realistic picture of the day-to-day activities of professional stylists and provides aspiring stylists with the tools and information needed to begin building a portfolio. Topics covered include photo shoots, film shoots, fashion shows, special events, and other areas such as image management and food, prop, and set styling. Burns-Tran includes charts of fashion icons, history, terms, and other sources of inspiration from classic films to street culture. The book also provides references to helpful apps, websites, and other resources for portfolio building, branding, networking, and maintaining a freelance or salaried career. New to this Edition - New coverage of social media and technological marketing avenues for stylists - More emphasis on prop styling and styling for home collections - New quotes, tips and interviews with professional stylists - New section on the language of fashion to improve professional communications Style Wise STUDIO ~ Study smarter with self-quizzes featuring scored results and personalized study tips ~ Review concepts with flashcards of terms and definitions and image identification ~ Access samples of documents, forms and templates for all stages of planning a photo shoot including a call sheet form, supply checklist, planning calendars and more PLEASE NOTE: Purchasing or renting this ISBN does not include access to the STUDIO resources that accompany this text. To receive free access to the STUDIO content with new copies of this book, please refer to the book + STUDIO access card bundle ISBN 9781501323836.
Image Source: GenderSpectrum,Vice,Com. Used under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0.
