HIST 7635 - Readings in Latin American History (Archives and Power): The Finding Aid

OVERVIEW OF COLLECTION

Title

DACS 2.3; MARC 245

Found in Accession Record

Date

DACS 2.4; MARC 245

The date range for all materials in the collection. Must have an end date.

Extent

DACS 2.5; MARC 300

Two parts: A number and expression of the extent or material.

Should reflect the processed collection. Options include linear feet, folders, items, etc.

Creator/Collector

DACS 2.6;
MARC 100, 100, 245, 600

If known. Use the authorized form of name(s) of individuals or organizations responsible for the creation, accumulation, or assembly of the described materials.

The source for the name of the creator is usually the name element in the title. Use LOC authorities when appropriate.

Collection Number

DACS 2.4; MARC 245

Found in Accession Record

Accruals

DACS 5.4; MARC 584

Only include if there are anticipated additions to the collection.

Language

DACS 4.5; MARC 546

Indicate the predominant language of the collection.

Repository

DACS 2.2, MARC 852

Zach S. Henderson Library Special Collections, Georgia Southern University, Statesboro, GA. specolle@georgiasouthern.edu. 912-358-4331. http://library.georgiasouthern.edu.

Processing Note:

DACS 8.1; MARC 583

Processed by [Name], [Title], under supervision of [Name], [Title]. YYYY-MM-DD.

INFORMATION FOR USE OF COLLECTION

Conditions Governing Access

DACS 4.1; MARC 506

The collection is open for research use. -or-
Access to this collection is restricted.

Physical Access

DACS 4.2; MARC 506

Materials must be viewed in the Special Collections Reading Room under the supervision of Special Collections staff.

Record any additional access restrictions due to the nature of the information in the Conditions Governing Access Element

Technical Access

DACS 4.3; MARC 538

Record any access restrictions due to the nature of the information in the Conditions Governing Access Element

Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use

DACS 4.4; MARC 540

In order to protect the materials from inadvertent damage, all reproduction services are performed by the Special Collections staff. All requests for reproduction must be submitted using the Reproduction Request Form. Requests to publish from the collection must be submitted using the Publication Request Form. Special Collections does not claim to control the rights to all materials in its collection. In all instances, it is the researcher's responsibility to obtain permission from the holders of any rights in the material being quoted, reproduced or published. The publishing party assumes all responsibility for clearing reproduction rights and for any infringement to any U.S. copyright law.

Preferred Citation

DACS 7.1; MARC 524

[Date and Title of Item], Collection Title, Zach S. Henderson Library Special Collections, Georgia Southern University, Statesboro, GA.

Separated Material

DACS 6.3

Document any materials that been physically separated or removed. These items may have been destroyed, moved to another area of the repository, added to a different collection, or returned to creator.

ABOUT THE COLLECTION

Scope and Content

DACS 3.1; MARC 520

2-3 sentences total. First phrase or sentence should be about the creator and their relationship to the files created. In a few cases, they may be biographical information in the names file if one has already been created. Get the information from the accession records. Synthesize and distill the information from all the accession records. If necessary look in the collections file and as a last resort check the collection itself.

Access Points

Debra

System of Arrangement

3.2 System of Arrangement

Describe the current arrangement of the collection in terms of the various aggregations within it and their relationships. Include any notes about the previous arrangement by the creator or by staff.

Acquisition Info

DACS 5.2; MARC 584

Gift of [name], [year[
Found in Accession Record

CONTAINER LISTING

Inventory of items as determined by the processing plan.