Skip to Main Content

HIST 7635 - Readings in Latin American History (Archives and Power): Physical Processing

This guide provides library and web-based information appropriate for students enrolled in HIST 7635: Readings in Latin American History (Archives and Power).

It's important to use folders in a way that the materials inside them sit flat in the archival boxes. Make note of the score lines along the bottom edge of the folders. Use these, or create your own when needed, to fold each folder to the correct width for the papers included in each.

Removing Materials

Duplicate items should be set aside for Special Collections Librarian to review. In some instances, two copies are desirable. Materials not permanently valuable should be weeded from the collection with caution. Weeded materials should be documented and not placed in office trash. The following are typical items weeded from collections:
Applications Calendars (Unless they document of activities Receipts
Ballots Canceled Checks Requisitions
Bank Statements Carbon Copies/Stencils Stationary (Blank)
Bills, Financial Phone Messages Supplies
Business Cards Purchase Orders Vouchers
 

Putting Materials in Boxes

Filling Boxes
Do not overfill a document box, which will cause it to bulge and make it difficult to remove folders. The box lid should close easily. It is just as important not to under-fill a box, which can cause contents to slump. Use a half-size box for small collections. If a full-size document box must be under-filled, crease and insert an acid-free spacer behind the folders to fill up the extra space. A new box does not need to be started for files under a new series. Fill each box completely regardless of where the series and subseries breaks fall.

Box Labels
Temporary labels can be clipped to each manuscript box and its contents until processing is complete and the finding aid written. Permanent labels should be printed and affixed to each box only after the collection is fully processed and the supervisor has approved.

Labels should include the collection name, box number, and a barcode. 

 

Writing Titles

Writing good titles is extremely important - always think like a researcher - what is in the folder, volume, or document that they need to know

  • Try not to use abbreviations - few are absolutely standardized and it is best to avoid possible ambiguities.
  • Use acronyms sparingly- If you have a series title that has an acronym, make certain that you include the full name in the series title, in addition to the acronym. 
  • Avoid the use of "Miscellaneous" whenever possible.

Preparing Materials

Be sure to remove any extraneous material including paper clips, rubber bands, wrapping material, binders, old folders and any other material that is not pertinent. Do not remove fasteners if it can result in damage.
 

Unfold and flatten papers wherever possible without causing damage to the folds. Remove letters from envelopes.
 

Isolate newsprint because it is highly acidic and will stain adjacent paper. Newspaper clippings can be replaced with photocopies on alkaline paper or placed into a separate envelope. Fax copies are similarly unstable and should be reproduced or isolated.

Never remove a photograph from its original mount or remove from original studio folders. Ideally, photos should be individually sleeved.

Note any badly damaged items, place them in individual folders, and set them aside for the Special Collections Librarian. Do not undertake any "first aid" unless you have received training and are qualified to do so

Preparing Box & Folder Numbers

To avoid numbering the collection multiple times, do not assign box and/or folder numbers until the collection is fully processed, as the order of series and/or folders will likely change over the course of processing. Prior to assigning numbers to any part of the collection, processors should ensure that all boxes in the collection are adequately stuffed. Boxes should be full, so that folders support each other and do not slouch, but should not be so full that it is difficult to remove or re-file folders.

Every box (or container), folder, volume, and/or loose item in the collection should receive a number. Folders, volumes, or items housed within a box or container should be labeled with BOTH a box number and folder/volume/item number.

Box Numbers Boxes should be numbered consecutively from 1 to however many boxes there are in the collection, including any and all oversize or custom built boxes. Box numbers should be assigned in the order in which boxes sit on the shelf. Assign numbers to oversize or custom built containers AFTER they are placed on the shelf in an order that makes sense in regard to their size and shape – making sure that boxes are arranged to minimize use of shelf space. Box numbers should be prominently and consistently marked on box labels.
Folder Numbers Folders should be numbered within boxes, with both the box and folder numbers clearly and consistently recorded on the folder tab throughout the entire collection. No matter the size, shape, or contents of a box, folders should be consecutively numbered from 1 to however many folders there are in a box, with each box starting with a new folder 1.
Item Numbers Occasionally collections house loose items (not housed in a box), which should be shelved and numbered in the same manner as volumes. Items should be numbered from 1 to however many items there are in the collection.

Subjects: History