Skip to Main Content

HIST 4635 - Senior Seminar: Find Books

This guide provides library and web-based information appropriate for students enrolled in HIST 4635: Senior Seminar course.

Tips for Searching

Think of the best keywords to enter and be ready to change them as you pursue your topic. Try using a subject encyclopedia or dictionary for specialized terminology. Get ideas for new keywords by carefully examining the subject fields in your first results.

Try these search features:

  • Use quotes to search for phrases (example: "Dissolution of the Monasteries”)
     
  • Use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to broaden or narrow your search
     
  • Use truncation (example: archiv* will find archive, archives, archival, archivist)
     
  • Sort results by date or relevance
     
  • Browse subject headings

Search for Books in the Catalog

To find books and other materials housed in the library, use the Library's catalog. The GIL-Find Catalog allows you to search for Books, eBooks, DVDs, and other materials housed in our libraries. 


Can't find what you need? To identify materials held at other USG Libraries, select "University System of Georgia" from the drop-down menu when searching. Use our Gil-Express service to have materials sent to Zach S. Henderson Library.

Still can't find what you need?

To identify materials beyond our library, use the Worldcat and our Interlibrary Loan services. 

WorldCat is the world's most comprehensive bibliography containing millions of bibliographic records cataloged by OCLC member libraries. It includes books, websites and internet resources, manuscripts, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films and slides, newspapers, journals and magazines, sound recordings, articles, chapters, papers, and videotapes. WorldCat is available using two different user interfaces, each of which provides different search features and information:​

WorldCat FirstSearch
WorldCat's legacy user interface. 

WorldCat.org
Public-domain version of WorldCat, available on the open web.

Library of Congress Subject Headings and Search Terms

Library of Congress (LOC) Subject Headings are umbrella terms or phrases used to classify information on a certain subject. If you find a useful Subject Heading in the Gil-Find Catalog, you'll be able to see all the other items assigned to that heading. However, Subject Headings have unique structures and can therefore be difficult to find. Here are some ideas for searching the GIL-Find catalog:

Representations of War

  • World War, 1914-1918--Art and the war
  • World War, 1914-1918--Pictorial works
  • World War, 1914-1918--Drama
  • World War, 1914-1918--Fiction
  • World War, 1914-1918--Literature and the war
  • World War, 1914-1918--Poetry

Campaigns

  • World War, 1914-1918--Campaigns
  • World War, 1914-1918--Campaigns--[country]--[battle]
  • [Country]--History, Military
  • Verdun, Battle of, Verdun, France, 1916

Causes

  • World War, 1914-1918--History
  • World War, 1914-1918--Causes
  • World War, 1914-1918--Diplomatic History
  • Europe--History--1871-1918
  • Europe--Politics and Government, 1871-1918

Countries

  • World War, 1914-1918--[Country]
  • [Country or region]--History, military--20th century
  • [Country or region]--History--[time period]
  • [Country]--Military policy--History--20th century
  • [Country]--Foreign relations--[time period]
  • [Country]--Politics and government--[time period]

Homefront

  • World War, 1914-1918--Economic aspects [country]
  • World War, 1914-1918--Social aspects [country]
  • World War, 1914-1918--Influence
  • World War, 1914-1918--Refugees

Warfare

  • World War, 1914-1918--Chemical warfare
  • World War, 1914-1918--Naval operations
  • World War, 1914-1918--Tunnel warfare
  • World War, 1914-1918--Engineering and construction
  • World War, 1914-1918--Tank warfare
  • World War, 1914-1918--Military intelligence
  • [Country]--History, Naval--20th century
  • Air warfare--History--20th century

Browse By Call Number

Most General history materials have D call numbers and are shelved on the third-floor. U.S. History materials will have E call numbers. These sections are further subdivided:

D History (General)

D501-680 World War I (1914-1918)

DA History of Great Britain

DA566-592 20th century

DAW Central Europe

DC France

DC361-424 20th century

DD Germany

DD228.8 Period of World War I, 1914-1918

E151-909 History of the Americas

E183.7-183.9 Diplomatic history. Foreign and general relations

E766-783 Wilson's administrations, 1913-1921

​P Language and Literature (General)

PR English Literature

PR6000-6049 1900-1960

PS American Literature

PS3500-3549 1900-1960

Subjects: History