HIST 4635 - Senior Seminar: Find Articles
Image Credit: World Digital Library
Can't find the full-text?
ILLiad is the system used to manage Interlibrary loan requests.
New Georgia Southern users must create an ILLiad account. Once you have an account, use ILLIad to:
- submit new requests
- track status of requests
- view electronically received articles
- submit requests for renewals
Try DISCOVER
DISCOVER articles, books, media and more…
Try Article Databases
- JSTOR (including Artstor) This link opens in a new windowArticles, most peer-reviewed; Artstor images (more...).
- Arts & Humanities Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed journals, selected trade, and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies (more...).
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowArticles, some peer-reviewed, world history (more...).
Looking for more? Try the A-Z Database List.
Tips for Searching
Think of the best keywords to enter and be ready to change them as you pursue your topic. Try using a subject encyclopedia or dictionary for specialized terminology. Get ideas for new keywords by carefully examining the subject fields in your first results.
Try these search features:
- Use quotes to search for phrases (example: "Paris Peace Conference”)
- Use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to broaden or narrow your search
- Use truncation (example: archiv* will find archive, archives, archival, archivist)
Access resources from off-campus using your MyGeorgiaSouthern credentials.
Scholarly v. Non-Scholary
Scholarly (peer-reviewed) resources undergo review by experts in a field of study, who determine that the articles are objective and credible before they are published. Examples of peer-reviewed resources include articles in academic journals, collections of essays or anthologies.
Non-scholarly resources are published without review by experts. Non-scholarly resources range from a variety of types, such as websites and magazines, to newspapers and books. If you plan to use non-scholarly materials, ask your instructor beforehand, and use the CRAAP Test.