LGBTQ+ Resources

• Archives of Lesbian Oral Testimony 

  "The Archives of Lesbian Oral Testimony collects and makes available the oral histories of people who presently or at one time identified as same-sex and same-gender attracted women.."

• Digital Transgender Archive 

  "The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world."

• Gale- Archives of Sexuality and Gender 

  "As part of the Archives of Sexuality and Gender series, this collection enables students, educators, and researchers to thoroughly explore and make new connections in subjects such as LGBTQ history and activism, cultural studies, psychology, sociology, health, political science, policy studies, human rights, gender studies, and more..

• GLBT Historical Society Archives 

• "The Dr. John P. De Cecco Archives and Special Collections of the GLBT Historical Society are among the largest and most extensive holdings in the world of materials pertaining to LGBTQ people.."

• JSTOR Independent Voices- LGBT 

  "Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.."

• Lesbian Herstory Archives 

  "We founded The Lesbian Herstory Archives in the 1970s when a group of women involved in the Gay Academic Union realized that Lesbian history was “disappearing as quickly as it was being made.” Our mission is to gather and preserve records of Lesbian lives and activities so that future generations will have ready access to materials relevant to their lives.."

• LGBTQ Digital Collaboratory 

  "LGBTQ digital oral history is an emerging field built by dedicated activists, historians, and archivists across the web. This hub acts as a growing resource for oral histories practitioners and the public.."

• ONE Archives Collection 

  "ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives is the oldest active Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning (LGBTQ) organization in the United States and the largest repository of LGBTQ materials in the world. Founded in 1952, ONE Archives currently houses over two million archival items including periodicals, books, film, video and audio recordings, photographs, artworks, organizational records and personal papers.."

• Outweek- Magazine Archive 

  "This seminal magazine reported on - and in many cases created - many of the biggest stories affecting gay life at the height of the AIDS crisis. During its existence, OutWeek was arguably the most widely read and controversial gay and lesbian publication ever.."

• Sex and Sexuality Archives 

  "This collection explores changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender identities and sexual behaviors from the nineteenth to the twenty-first centuries.."

• Transgender Archives 

  "The Transgender Archives at the University of Victoria is actively acquiring documents, rare publications, and memorabilia of persons and organizations associated with activism by and for trans, nonbinary, Two-Spirit, and other gender-diverse people.."

• Two-Spirit Archives- The University of Winnipeg 

  "The mission of the Two-Spirit Archives is to develop an internationally-renowned centre for research that supports the needs of the Two-Spirit community; makes Two-Spirit people visible in our documentary heritage; and supports the research, teaching, learning, and community mandates of the University. It is guided in its development by the Two-Spirit Archives Advisory Council, which ensures Two-Spirit people are central to preserving the history of their contributions to society and in strengthening their community."

The LGBTQ+ community in Georgia and the American South continue to face obstacles at a higher rate than the rest of the country. Yet, the history of LGBTQ+ Southerners, while under-documented, is a rich, multi-faceted story. Find historical collections that hope to illuminate the lives and accomplishments of the LGBTQ+ community.