Henderson Library Board Games

Welcome to Henderson Library’s board game collection! To use this guide:

• Scroll through and read the entries for each game until you find the one you would like to check out. 
• Right click any image and select "Open Image in new tab" to see a larger picture.
• Click the link to view the game in our catalogue. Games stored in our Automated Retrieval Collections must be requested through the catalogue. Contact the Circulation Desk with any questions or view the FAQ section of this guide for more information. 
• If you request the game through our catalogue, you will receive an email when it is ready to be picked up. 
• Come visit us at the Circulation Desk with your Eagle ID, driver’s license, or other form of photo ID to check out your game. 
• Games located in our Browsing section do not have to be requested through the catalogue. Please visit us at Henderson Library to check out these games. 

Arkham Horror

Answer the Call of Cthulhu in this detective board game for up to eight players. Battle monsters, uncover clues, and try to stay alive as you race to uncover the mystery haunting Arkham. Can you save the city - and the world?

Age: 14+

Players: 1-8

Genre: Adventure

Location: Browsing, 2nd Floor

Axis and Allies : Spring 1941, the World Is at War!

Deploy your military and defend your country in this award-winning World War II reenactment board game. Strategize with your teammates and potentially risk it all to turn the tides of war in your favor. For two to five players, Axis and Allies puts the fate of the world in your hands.

Age: 12+

Players: 2-6

Genre: Strategy/War

Location: Browsing, 2nd Floor

Catan: Trade, Build, Settle

A modern classic, this award-winning game requires its players to build cities from the ground up. Collect resources and trade with other players to construct your own empire. Race against other players to collect ten development points and win. Carve out a weekend for this one. 

Age: 10+

Players: 3-4

Genre: Strategy

Location: Browsing, 2nd Floor

CrossWays

Race to the other side of the board in this turn-based game. Use cards strategically to thwart other players and blaze a path with your own game pieces. With a typical play time of fifteen minutes, this short game might tempt you to do “just one more round” a few (or several) times.

Age: 8+

Players: 2-4

Genre: Strategy

Location: Browsing, 2nd Floor

Deutschlandreise: Voyage en Allemagne: Journey through Germany

Go on a tour of Germany in this simple game for two to six players. Roll the dice, and collect destination cards to win.

Note: Stored in our Automated Retrieval Collections, available by request.

Age: 8+

Players: 2-6

Genre: Adventure

Location: Automated Retrieval Collections

Diplomacy: A Game of International Intrigue, Trust, & Treachery

Reenact World War I with your friends in this strategy game that favors negotiation over chance. Control your military through written orders, cooperate with (or work against) the Great Powers of Europe, and experience history in a unique, fun, and exciting way in this game for two to seven players.

Age: 12+

Players: 2-7

Genre: Strategy/War

Location: Browsing, 2nd Floor

Donya

A children’s game consisting of magnets and a magnetic board used as a tool to help teach the Arabic language.

Note: Stored in our Automated Retrieval Collections, available by request.

Age: Children

Players: 1

Genre: Educational

Location: Automated Retrieval Collections

Land Ho!: The Discovery of America Game in Spanish and English

An educational card game that encourages bilingualism as players discover America.

Note: Stored in our Automated Retrieval Collections, available by request.

Age: 8+

Players: 3

Genre: Adventure

Location: Automated Retrieval Collections

Monopoly (German language)

Collect properties and defeat the competition in this classic board game.

Note: this game, including all pieces and directions, is in German. Stored in our Automated Retrieval Collections, available by request.

Age: 8+

Players: 2-4

Genre: Party/Strategy

Location: Automated Retrieval Collections

Pandemic

Work together in this party game for two to four players to save the world from deadly diseases. Race against the clock to cure major viral hotspots around the globe. Be careful: if just one disease gets out of control, everyone loses.

Age: 8+

Players: 2-4

Genre: Party/Strategy

Location: Browsing, 2nd Floor

Power Grid

Compete against your friends in this supply-and-demand game for two to six players. Collect resources and bid for the most efficient ways to provide electricity to as many cities as possible. Strategy is required in this award-winning game known for its market-based gameplay.

Age: 13+

Players: 2-6

Genre: Business Simulation/Strategy

Location: Browsing, 2nd Floor

Scrabble (German Language)

The classic word game that expands the vocabulary of players of all ages.

Note: this game, including all pieces and directions, is in German. Stored in our Automated Retrieval Collections, available by request.

Age: 8+

Players: 2-4

Genre: Word

Location: Automated Retrieval Collections

Tapple

Compete with your friends in this fast-paced word game. Draw a card to choose a category, give a one-word answer that fits the category, and press the first letter of the word on the Tapple wheel - all in ten seconds. This Mensa-recommended game is made for two to eight players. 

Age: 8+

Players: 2-8

Genre: Party/Word

The Game of Ur 

Dating back to early Mesopotamia, this strategy game for two has stood the test of time for its simplicity, intensity, and accessibility to players of all ages. Be prepared: this could get dicey.

Age: All Ages

Players: 2

Genre: Strategy/Racing

Location: Browsing, 2nd Floor

Tokaido

In this game, two to five players travel across the East Sea Road of Japan. The goal is to become the most experienced traveler with the most discoveries to their name. Have a fun, relaxing game with your friends and enjoy traveling from the comfort and safety of your own home. 

Age: 8+

Players: 2-5

Genre: Strategy

Location: Browsing, 2nd Floor

Trivial Pursuit (German Language)

The classic trivia game for adults with one thousand trivia cards that provide lasting fun for the whole evening.

Note: this game, including all pieces and directions, is in German. Stored in our Automated Retrieval Collections, available by request.

Age: 18+

Players: 2-36

Genre: Party/Educational

Location: Automated Retrieval Collections