Author's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial if given. (Year webpage was last updated/published, Month Day if given). Title of page: Subtitle (if any). Website name. Url
Page found on a website
Reference List
Cristina, O. (2020, June 23). Simple Things I Do To Overcome Creative Blocks. Medium. https://medium.com/the-business-of-wellness/simple-things-i-do-to-overcome-creative-blocks-f35641485984
In-Text Parenthetical
(Cristina, 2020)
In-Text Narrative
Cristina (2020)
Corporation/Group/Organization's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial if given. (Year webpage was last updated/published, Month Day if given). Title of page: Subtitle (if any). Website name. Url
Page found on a website
Reference List
NASA. (2020, April 10). Solar System & Beyond. https://www.nasa.gov/topics/solarsystem
In-Text Parenthetical
(NASA, 2020)
In-Text Narrative
NASA (2020)
Author/Corporation/Group/Organization's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial if given.
(Year website was updated/published, Month Day if given). Title of website. Url
Page found on a website
Reference List
The Weather Company. (2020, September 30). The Weather Channel. https://weather.com/
In-Text Parenthetical
(The Weather Company, 2020)
In-Text Narrative
The Weather Company (2020)
Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial. of person who posted the video if known. [User namethat posted the video]. (Year video was posted, Month Day). Title of video [Video]. Name of Website. Url
Note:
If the uploader’s name is unknown, a username is usually still associated and that suffices. If a group/username is known that acts as both author and username, put as both author and username.
Video found on YouTube
Reference List
Forster, S. [Stefan Forster]. (2018, November 22). Greenland - Land of Ice 4K [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/f7hbWvHKns0
In-Text Parenthetical
(Forster, 2018)
In-Text Narrative
Forster (2018)
Video from Kanopy found through the libraries' databases
Reference List
Peck, R. (Director). (2016). I am not your Negro [Film]. Kino Lorber. https://georgiasouthern.kanopy.com/product/i-am-not-your-negro
In-Text Parenthetical
(Peck, 2016)
In-Text Narrative
Peck (2016)
Video from Kanopy found through the libraries' databases
Reference List
Taylor, S. (Director). (2017). It's Criminal [Video file]. Video Project.
In-Text Parenthetical
(Taylor, 2017)
In-Text Narrative
Taylor (2017)
Video from Films on Demand found through the libraries' databases
Reference List
Friendly, R. (2007). Choosing Justice: Elections and Judicial Independence--Ethics in America II [Film]. Fred Friendly Seminars.
In-Text Parenthetical
(Friendly, 2007)
In-Text Narrative
Friendly (2007)
Video from Films on Demand found through the libraries' databases
Reference List
Grimberg, S. (Director). (2020). McCarthy [film]. WGBH Educational Foundation. Winter Pink Films. https://go.openathens.net/redirector/georgiasouthern.edu?url=https%3a%2f%2ffod.infobase.com%2fOnDemandEmbed.aspx%3ftoken%3d206156%26wID%3d103300%26plt%3dFOD%26loid%3d0%26w%3d640%26h%3d480%26fWidth%3d660%26fHeight%3d530
Grimberg, S. (Director). (2020). McCarthy [film]. WGBH Educational Foundation. Winter Pink Films. https://bit.ly/30sUX1j
In-Text Parenthetical
(Grimberg, 2020)
In-Text Narrative
Grimberg (2020)
Director's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial if given. (Director). (Year DVD was produced). Title of DVD [Film]. Production Company.
DVD found at the library
Reference List
Sekler, J., Pérez, R.R. (2004). Unprecedented: the 2000 Presidential Election [Film]. Public Interest Pictures.
In-Text Parenthetical
(Sekler & Pérez, 2004)
In-Text Narrative
Sekler & Pérez (2004)
Last Name, First Initial. Second if given (Executive Produce). (Years on air). Title [TV Series]. Production Company.
TV Series aired on television
Reference List
Lynch, D. & Frost, M. (1990-91. 2017). Twin Peaks [TV Series; Seasons 1-3; Season 3 aired much later than other seasons]. Twin Peaks Productions, Propaganda Films.
In-Text Parenthetical
(Lynch & Frost, 1990-91, 2017)
In-Text Narrative
Lynch & Frost (1990-91, 2017)
Writer’s Lastname, First Initial. Second Initial if given., Director’s Lastname, First Initial. Second Initial if given. (Director). (Year, Month Day). Tile of episode (Season #, Episode #) [TV series episode]. In Executive Producer First Initial. Second Initial if given. Lastname (Executive Producer), Title of TV Show. Production Company 1; Production Company 2; etc.
Episode of a TV series found on a streaming service
Reference List
Cantor, H. (Writer), Miller, T. (Director). (2019, March 15). Unexpected Company (Season 5, Episode 9) [TV series episode]. In M. Hurwitz (Creator), B. Grazer, R. Howard, & J. Valley (Executive Producers), Arrested Development. Imagine Television; The Hurwitz Company; 20th Century Fox Television; Netflix.
In-Text Parenthetical
(Cantor & Miller, 2019)
In-Text Narrative
Cantor & Miller (2019)
Quote Example
When Lucille asks why the family has to throw a welcome party for members returning home from prison, George says, “Tradition” (Cantor & Miller, 2019, 0:00:10-0:00:20).
Episode of a TV series found on a streaming service
Reference List
Wright, C. (Writer), Virgo, C. (Director). (2020, June 23). The First Day (Season 5, Episode 1) [TV series episode]. In C. Wright (Creator), O. Winfrey, C. Virgo, & K. T. Towner (Executive Producers), Greenleaf. Pine City; Harpo Films; Lionsgate; OWN.
In-Text Parenthetical
(Wright & Virgo, 2020)
In-Text Narrative
Wright & Virgo (2020)
Paraphrase Example
Wright & Virgo’s episode opens with Bishop James Greenleaf walks to the pulpit of his empty church and his daughter joins him; they silently look around the church before heading outside, where a news crew awaits (2020, 0:00:00-0:01:10).
Author's Last Name, First initial. Second Initial if given or Username if real name not provided. (Year blog post was published, Month Day). Title of blog post. Title of Blog. URL
Blog post found on a website
Reference List
Muller, C. (2020, July 2). Are Bank Stocks a Safe COVID-19 Investment? DoughRoller. https://www.doughroller.net/investing/are-bank-stocks-a-safe-covid-19-investment/
In-Text Parenthetical
(Muller, 2020)
In-Text Narrative
Muller (2020)
User’s last name, First Initial, or Name of Group [@username]. (Year, Month Date). Content of the post up to the first 20 words[Tweet]. Site Name. URL
Twitter post (Tweet) found on Twitter
Reference List
Politics1.com. (2020, September 8). Gen James McConville, the Army Chief of Staff, pushes back against President Trump's comments that the general "want" endless wars[Tweet]. Twitter. https://twitter.com/Politics1com/status/1303419802204037120?s=20
In-Text Parenthetical
(Politics1.com, 2020)
In-Text Narrative
Politics1.com (2020)
User’s Last name, First Initial, or Name of Group. (Year, Month Date). Content of the post up to the first 20 words [Type of post *image, video, status, etc.]. Site Name. URL
Facebook post found on Facebook
Reference List
U.S. Census Bureau. (2020, September 1). Census takers will continue to follow up in-person w/ homes across the country through Sept 30 in an effort… [Link]. Facebook. https://www.facebook.com/uscensusbureau/posts/10157181777582364
In-Text Parenthetical
(U.S. Census Bureau, 2020)
In-Text Narrative
U.S. Census Bureau (2020)
Group or personal page owner. (n.d.) Page Title [Facebook]. Retrieved Month, Day, Year, from URL
Facebook page found on Facebook
Reference List
U. S. Census Bureau. (n.d.) Home [Facebook page]. Facebook. Retrieved October 1, 2020, from https://www.facebook.com/pg/uscensusbureau/posts/?ref=page_internal
In-Text Parenthetical
(U.S. Census Bureau, 2020)
In-Text Narrative
U.S. Census Bureau (2020)
Artist Last name, First Initial. Second Initial if given. (Year). Title if given [If no title, describe the image. If it has a title, just list the type of source]. Website/Museum/Magazine/Database/Location. URL
Image from a Museum found on a database or a website
Reference List
Morris. R. (1967). Untitled (Tangle) [Felt, each strip 25mm thick, dimensions variable, museum intallation]. MOMA, New York, NY. https://www.moma.org/collection/works/80888
In-Text Parenthetical
(Morris, 1967)
In-Text Narrative
Morris (1967)
Image from a Newspaper found on a database or a website
Reference List
Shaff, E. (2020, October 2). [Photograph of President Trump on ramp]. The New York Times. https://www.newyorktimes.com/live/2020/10/02/world/covid-19-coronavirus/the-president-was-said-to-have-seemed-lethargic-at-a-fund-raiser_at-his-new-jersey-gold-club
In-Text Parenthetical
(Schaff, 2020)
In-Text Narrative
Schaff (2020)
Image from a website
Reference List
Edson, F. (n.d.). [Photograph of Russell Edson]. Poetry Foundation. https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/russelledson
In-Text Parenthetical
(Edson, n.d.)
In-Text Narrative
Edson (n.d.)
Note:
Treat this a social media post. List the source type as Image in the brackets.
Click here to go to the example.
Artist Last name, First Initial. Second Initial if given. (Year). Title if given [If no title, describe the image. If it has a title, just list the type of source]. Website/Museum/Magazine/Database/Location. URL if given
Book jacket image from a physical book
Reference List
Welty, E. (n.d.) Window Shopping [Jacket photograph for Voyage of the Sable Venus by Robin Coste Lewis]. Mississippi Department of Archives & History, Jackson, MS.
In-Text Parenthetical
(Welty, n.d.)
In-Text Narrative
Welty (n.d.)
Image of a painting found in a magazine
Reference List
Yiadom-Boakye, L. (2015). Repose 1 [Painting]. Corvi-Mora, London, UK, and Jack Shainman Gallery, New York, NY.
In-Text Parenthetical
(Yiadom-Boakye, 2015)
In-Text Narrative
Yiadom-Boakye (2015)
Image of a building found in a book
Reference List
Isachar, H. (n.d.) [Photograph of the Basilica of the Annunciation on p.193 of Israel & the Palestinian Territories by Lonely Planet]. Getty Images.
In-Text Parenthetical
(Isachar, n.d.)
In-Text Narrative
Isachar (n.d.)
Host Lastname, First Initial. Second Initial if given. (Year, Month Day). Episode title (No. #) [Audio podcast episode]. In Title of the Podcast. Production companies or organizations. URL
Single episode of a podcast found on a website
Reference List
Novella, S., Novella, B., Novella, J., Bernstein, E., Santa Maria, C. (Hosts). (2019, December 28). Episode #755 (No. 755) [Audio podcast episode]. In The Skeptics’ Guide to the Universe. SGU Productions. https://www.theskepticsguide.org/podcasts/episode-755
In-Text Parenthetical
(Novella et al., 2019)
In-Text Narrative
Novella et al. (2019)
Executive Producer’ Lastname, First Initial. Second Initial if given. (Executive Producer). (Year - year/present). Title of the Podcast [Audio podcast]. Production companies or organizations. URL
Note:
You can use the host instead of the executive producer.
Whole podcast found on a website
Reference List
Zakaria, F. (Host). (2010-present). Fareed Zakaria GPS [Audio podcast]. CNN. https://www.cnn.com/audio/podcasts/fareed-zakaria-gps?episodeguid=bc67d8d6-379e-48c7-980b-ac4a010364b8
In-Text Parenthetical
(Zakaria, 2010-present)
In-Text Narrative
Zakaria (2010-present)
Artist’s Lastname, First Initial. Second Initial if given. (Year). Song title [Song]. On Album. Publisher. URL if available
Song from an album found on a database
Reference List
Ravel, M. (1920). La Valse (version for orchestra) [Song]. On Orchestral Music - BERLIOZ, H. / DEBUSSY, C. / RAVEL, M. (Pittsburgh Symphony, Reiner) [Album]. Columbia Masterworks. https://gasouthern-naxosmusiclibrary-com.us1.proxy.openathens.net/catalogue/item.asp?cid=886448384649
In-Text Parenthetical
(Ravel, 1920)
In-Text Narrative
Ravel (1920)
Group name. (Year). Title [Album]. Record Label. URL if that is the only location to hear the work
Whole album from a website. Note: this recording artist is O.B not O.B.
Reference List
O.B. (2017). El Caballero [Album]. Free Music Records. https://soundcloud.com/freemusicrecordings/sets/o-b-el-caballero-ep-out-now
In-Text Parenthetical
(O.B, 2017)
In-Text Narrative
O.B (2017)
Speaker’s Lastname, First Initial. Second initial if given. (Year, Month Day). Title [Speech audio recording]. Name of Website. URL
Recorded speech found on a website
Reference List
Wilson, W. (1912). Woodrow Wilson on the tariff [Speech audio recording]. Library of Congress. https://www.loc.gov/item/jukebox-132131/
In-Text Parenthetical
(Wilson, 1912)
In-Text Narrative
Wilson (1912)
Lastname, First Initial. Second Initial if given. (Year, Month Day). Title of story [Radio broadcast]. Website. URL
Radio broadcast found on a website
Reference List
Jacobs, E. (2020, October 4). A Suggestion Box For The Universe [Radio broadcast]. NPR. https://www.npr.org/sections/coronavirus-live-updates/2020/10/04/919152319/a-suggestion-box-for-the-universe
In-Text Parenthetical
(Jacobs, 2020)
In-Text Narrative
Jacobs (2020)