Skip to Main Content

APA 7th ed: Articles from Journals, Magazines, News, Proceedings, etc.

Notes changes in the new edition and provides examples for students to follow for writing and citing.

What's a DOI?

A DOI is a Digital Object Identifier. This allows anyone with the link to access the source directly. 

What's a permalink? And should I use one in my citation?

Most journals, videos or books from the libraries' databases provide a permalink, rather than a DOI. A permalink works like a DOI for accessing journals, except that only those affiliated with your school may access the permalink.  The 7th Edition of the APA style manual does not require the use of permalinks. It is acceptable to stop your citation after the source element in your reference list citation for most materials. Your professor, however, is the final authority on your paper requirements, and should be consulted about this issue if there is any ambiguity. Some professors will prefer that you include the permalink for their convenience.  The best policy is to always ask for clarification.

Tips

  • Page numbers can be listed as numbers, letters, or a combination. Give the page numbers exactly how they appear in the source. 

  • Get permalink from the full-text of the article.

  • Present both DOIs and URLs as hyperlinks (i.e., beginning with “http:” or “https:”). You may use short DOIs or shortened URLs if desired.
  • If you need help, Ask a Librarian! 

https://georgiasouthern.libguides.com/researchhelp

Article from a Journal

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial if given. (Year of Publication). Title of article: Subtitle if any. Name of Journal, Volume Number(Issue Number), first page number-last page number. DOI or permalink URL if given

 

Print article from a journal found at the library

Reference List

Patterson, B.J. (2020). Research During Unprecedented Times. Nursing Education Perspectives, 41(4), 205-206.

 

In-Text Parenthetical
(Patterson, 2020)


In-Text Narrative
Patterson (2020)

 

Electronic article from a journal found on a database

Reference List

Cobb, P. (2002). Epistemological world views, subject matter, contexts, and the institutional setting of teaching. Issues in Education: Contributions from Educational Psychology, 8(2), 149-157.

  • or, if your professor prefers inclusion of permalink:

Cobb, P. (2002). Epistemological world views, subject matter, contexts, and the institutional setting of teaching. Issues in Education: Contributions from Educational Psychology, 8(2), 149-157. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,shib&db=tfh&AN=9750377&custid=gso1&custid=gso1&groupid=main&profile=eds

 

In-Text Parenthetical
(Cobb, 2002)


In-Text Narrative
Cobb (2002)

 

Electronic article from a journal found on a database

Reference List

Evans, C. (2020). Adlerian Play Therapy and Trauma. Journal of Individual Psychology, 76(2), 159-161.

  • or, if your professor prefers inclusion of permalink:

Evans, C. (2020). Adlerian Play Therapy and Trauma. Journal of Individual Psychology, 76(2), 159-161. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,shib&d b=edsbl&AN=RN623931650&custid=gso1

 

In-Text Parenthetical
(Evans, 2020)


In-Text Narrative
Evans (2020)

 

Electronic article from a journal found on a website, multiple authors

Reference List

Lu, C., Zhang, Y., Zhou, C., Jiao, J., & Wu, Y. (2019). Methods and Practice of Graduate Education System with the Integration of Scientific Research and Education. Research in Higher Education Journal, 37. https://files.eric.ed.gov/fulltext/EJ1233122.pdf

 

In-Text Parenthetical
(Lu et al., 2019)


In-Text Narrative
Lu et al (2019)

Article from a Magazine

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial if given. (Year of Publication, Month Day if Given). Title of article: Subtitle if any. Name of Magazine, Volume Number(Issue Number), first page number-last page number. DOI or permalink URL if given

 

Note:

When possible, include the year, month, and date in references. If the month and date are not available, use the year of publication.

 

Print article from a magazine found at the library

Reference List

Vaughan, A. (April 6, 2019). Does air pollution really cause teen psychosis? New Scientist, 242(3224), 25.

 

In-Text Parenthetical
(Vaughan, 2019)


In-Text Narrative
Vaughan (2019)

 

Electronic article from a magazine's website

Reference List

Chatlosh, K. (September 4, 2020). Public Colleges Face Mass Budget Cuts Under the Shock of COVID-19. Teen Vogue. https://www.teenvogue.com/story/cuny-budget-cuts

 

In-Text Parenthetical
(Chatlosh, 2020)


In-Text Narrative
Chatlosh (2020)

Article from a Newspaper

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial if given. (Year of Publication, Month Day if Given). Title of article: Subtitle if any. Name of Newspaper. URL

 

Print article from a newspaper found at the library

Reference List

Hackle, A. (2020, September 3). City, county leader: COVID surge not unexpected. Statesboro Herald.

 

In-Text Parenthetical
(Hackle, 2020)


In-Text Narrative
Hackle (2020)

 

Electronic article from a newspaper found on a database

Reference List

Benveniste, A. (2020, September 27). Chris Wallace won't fact check Trump and Biden during the debate. CNN Wire.

  • or, if your professor prefers inclusion of permalink:

Benveniste, A. (2020, September 27). Chris Wallace won't fact check Trump and Biden during the debate. CNN Wire. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true​&AuthType=ip,shib​&db=n5h&AN​=BAQ4h_52be717a0037ef85f819b​aca4fa47675

 

In-Text Parenthetical
(Benveniste, 2020)


In-Text Narrative
Benveniste (2020)

 

Electronic article from a newspaper found on a website

Reference List

Porter, E. (2020, September 4). The Service Economy Meltdown. The New York Times, A1. https://www.nytimes.com/2020/09/04/business/economy/service-economy-workers.html

 

In-Text Parenthetical
(Porter, 2020)


In-Text Narrative
Porter (2020)

 

Article from a Website

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial if given. (Year of Publication, Month Day if given). Title: Subtitle if any. Name of Website. URL 

 

Note:

If no date is given, use (n.d.).

 

Electronic article found on a website

Reference List

Dirks, Tim. (n.d.). Greatest Zombie Films. Filmsite. https://www.filmsite.org/zombiefilms.html

 

In-Text Parenthetical
(Dirks, n.d.)


In-Text Narrative
Dirks (n.d.)

 

Electronic article found on a website

Reference List

Rura, Nicole. (2020, September 23). Poll: 46% of U.S. households report facing serious financial problems during the coronavirus outbreak. Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health. https://www.hsph.harvard.edu/news/press-releases/poll-46-of-u-s-households-report-facing-serious-financial-problems-during-the-coronavirus-outbreak/

 

In-Text Parenthetical
(Rura, 2020)


In-Text Narrative
Rura (2020)

 

Electronic article found on a website

Reference List

Bök, Christian. (n.d.). After Language Poetry. UbuWeb. https://www.ubu.com/papers/oei/bok.html

 

In-Text Parenthetical
(Bök, n.d.)


In-Text Narrative
Bök (n.d.)

Article with Many Authors

Note: 

Surnames and initials for up to twenty authors should be provided in the reference list. For more than 20 authors, list the first 19, followed by an ellipsis,“&” list the final author (... & Smith).

The in-text citation for works with three or more authors is shortened to the first author's name, followed by et al. and the year.

When possible, include the year, month, and date in references. If the month and date are not available, use the year of publication.

Even though these are journal articles, magazine articles will use the same format.

General Format

In-Text Citation (Paraphrase): (Author Surname et al., Year)
In-Text Citation (Quotation): (Author Surname et al., Year, page number)

 

Electronic article from a journal of conference proceedings found on a website

Reference List

MacLean, E. L., Hare, B., Nunn, C. L., Addessi, E., Amici, F., Anderson, R. C., Aureli, F., Baker, J. M., Bania, A. E., Barnard, A. M., Boogert, N. J., Brannon, E. M., Bray, E. E., Bray, J., Brent, L. J., Burkart, J. M., Call, J.,Cantlon, J. F., Cheke, L. G.,& Zhao, Y. (2014, May 14). The evolution of self-control. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America, 111(20), E2140-2148. https://doi.org/10.1073/pnas.1323533111  

 

In-Text Parenthetical
(MacLean et al., 2014)


In-Text Narrative
MacLean et al. (2014)

 

Electronic article from a journal found on a database

Reference List

Callaghan, T.,Motta, M., Sylvester, S., Lunz Trujillo, K., Blackburn, C. (2019). Parent psychology and the decision to delay childhood vaccination. Social science & medicine, 238.

  • or, if your professor prefers inclusion of permalink:

Callaghan, T.,Motta, M., Sylvester, S., Lunz Trujillo, K., Blackburn, C. (2019). Parent psychology and the decision to delay childhood vaccination. Social science & medicine, 238. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?​direct=true&AuthType=ip,shib&db=eds​bl&AN=vdc.100100005528.0x000001&custid​=gso1&custid=gso​1&groupid=main&​profile=eds

 

In-Text Parenthetical
(Callaghan et al., 2019)


In-Text Narrative
Callaghan et al. (2019)

 

Electronic article from a journal found on a database

Reference List

Harmon, D.A., Haas, A.L., Peterkin, A. (2020). Experimental Tasks of Behavioral Risk Taking in Alcohol Administration Studies: A Systematic Review. Addictive Behaviors, 113. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.addbeh.2020.106678

 

In-Text Parenthetical
(Harmon et al., 2020)


In-Text Narrative
Harmon et al. (2020)

Article with no Authors

Note:

For articles without an author, move the title to the first place. For in-text references, refer to it by the first few words of the title or enough that the source is easily identified. 

 

Electronic article from a newspaper found on a database

Reference List

The Importance of Amy Coney Barrett; The Judge can solidify an originalist majority on the High Court. (2020, September 28). Wall Street Journal (Online).

 

In-Text Parenthetical
(“The Importance,” 2020)


In-Text Narrative
“The Importance” (2020)