Theatre & Performance
Theatre & Performance is an academic discipline that helps students understand theater, performance, and performative actions processed in different cultural and historical human communication.
Welcome!
This LibGuide provides information and links to materials appropriate for students enrolled in Theatre and Performance courses at Georgia Southern University. Here you will find pages on finding library and web-based information.
Useful Resources for Theatre Research
- Arts & Humanities Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Includes both scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies.The contents reflect the full interdisciplinary of contemporary study in the arts and humanities, with the inclusion of selected titles from related fields that are also covered by these indexes, such as ethnic and area studies, politics, economics and women's studies.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window Offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 460 journals, and selected coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 660 titles.
- Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window Theatre, play recordings, theory, criticism (more...). Funded by the Department of Communication Arts.
- International Bibliography of Theater & Dance with Full Text (IBTD) This link opens in a new window Includes full-text articles and books for those studying theatre and the performing arts. This database was initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research, and the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College has published 14 volumes of the IBTD since 1984.
- JSTOR (including Artstor) This link opens in a new window Provides access to back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The complete backfiles of these journals have been digitized, starting with the first issues, many of which date from the 1800s.
Links to Theatre Related Websites
- Armstrong's Theater Program
- AEA: Actors Equity Association
- Al Hirschfeld, Beyond Broadway Well-known artist who depicted performers & productions
- Federal Theatre Project Collection 1935-1939
- Internet Broadway Database
- New York Library for the Performing Arts
- New York Times Theater Reviews
- Opera America
- Playbill Broadway & Off Broadway news
- The Red List: Set Design
- The Savannah Theatre
- Talkin' Broadway
- Tony Awards
- Trustee's Theater (SCAD)