Armstrong on the Home Front: Home
What was life like at Armstrong during the War years?
How did life at Armstrong change during the war years? Examine documents found here to collect evidence of what life was like for students and faculty at Armstrong.and faculty during the War. Choose from pre-war (1935-1939), during the War (1939-1945) and after the War (1945-1950s) documents.
What did students/faculty think of the war? How did the war change their lives? How did Armstrong contribute to the war effort? How did the war impact Armstrong?
Armstrong's Home Front in Pctures
Inkwells 1941-1947
Or, browse issues of the Inkwell in the The Internet Archive (archive.org)
The Geechee, Armstrong's yearbook
Armstrong's school yearbook, titled The Geechee, documents Armstrong history, it was published most every year from 1937 thru 1995. Who created, wrote this document? Who's voice do we hear from this document?
All issues of The Geechee have been digitized and are freely available at The Internet Archive (archive.org) and linked here.
this
Inkwells 1935-1940
Browse pre-war issues of The Inkwell in the Internet Archive (archive.org)
The Inkwell, 1935-
The Inkwell is Armstrong's student newspaper, continuously published since September 1935. Few sources provide as much information about life at Armstrong over the years than our student newspaper.
Keyword search the Inkwell in the Georgia Southern Commons. Limit your search to the War years. What keywords might be useful for this research? Recall it wasn't called World War Two yet!
Welcome to your University Archives
Explore some of the treasures from Armstrong's archives on the pages of this guide. The Geechee, Armstrong's yearbook, The Inkwell, Armstrong's student newspaper and photographs are popular sources for Armstrong's story. Also digitized here are documents kept behind locked doors and in boxes, for safe keeping. Letters, programs describing a much anticipated play or event and carefully written minutes of meetings document life at Armstrong during the War years.
Materials in Archives and Special Collections are unique, rare, and historically significant. And often selected items are available in digital format. Armstrong has digitized the The Geechee, our college annual, published from 1938-1995. It is free for all to view on the Internet Archive. We are in the process of digit zing The Inkwell. Other documents were selected for this project, Armstrong during World War II.