HIST 4635 - Senior Seminar - DE CHANTAL: Browse Special Collections from Class
Bennet Family collection
This collection consists of materials related to the Bennett Family spanning from 1890 to 1974. Materials of note include World War I correspondence, pamphlets, and ephemera, Collection also includes family financial documents and minutes of the Pilgrim Missionary Baptist Association.
Leodel Coleman papers
This collection consists of the personal and professional papers of Leodel Coleman concerning his WWII service from 1942-1945. It includes stories for local newspapers about the U.S. Marine Corps mainly regarding promotions, weddings, and Purple Heart recipients. Additional correspondence between Margaret Mitchell and family is included.
Joseph T. Lawless papers
Collection contains materials including correspondence, newspaper clippings, newsletter bulletins, and a singular photograph spanning from 1863-1963. Materials mostly pertain to Irish nationalists and Irish Americans affiliated with the Friends of Irish Freedom.
Burgoon sheet music collection (In Process)
Collection consists of over 10,000+ song sheets circa 1890s-1950s, with some titles dating back to and before the Civil War.
Jared A. Fogel collection (in process)
The Jared A. Fogel Collection is comprised of eighty-five historic photographs ranging from 1860-1960. The photographs depict primarily queer men using figurative body language to indicate their sexuality. The first thirty-one photographs have descriptions provided by original collector, Patrick Hobgood.
Margaret Mitchell Letters to Laura Dorough Dyar
This collection consists of a series of twenty-one letters to Laura Dorough “Mother” Dyar from Margaret Mitchell, Mitchell’s husband, John Marsh, and Mitchell’s secretary Margaret E. Baugh, dating anywhere from 1936 to 1950. Most are signed by “Peggy” Mitchell, a nickname that Margaret Mitchell went by beginning in the 1920s. One letter is handwritten and includes a handwritten envelope while the others are typed. The letters, mostly the exchange of two close friends, contain content related to Mitchell’s writing of Gone With the Wind as well as mentions of the movie.
William A. Hagins papers
This collection contains the papers of William Archer Hagins, Sr. from 1919-2005. Included within the collection are written letters, V-Mail, military documents, and legal documents concerning Hagins’ service in the United States Army during World War I and World War II. Additional materials related to the Hagins Family including William Archer Hagins, Jr., a prominent American medical researcher, are included and consist of family photographs and genealogical research materials
Roxie Remley papers
This collection consists of the papers of Georgia Southern Emerita Professor of Art, Roxie A. Remley, from 1942-2020. Materials include professional and personal correspondence, journals, day calendars, photographs, and other unpublished materials related to Remley’s work with the Women’s Army Auxiliary Corps (WAAC), later Women’s Army Corps, Georgia Southern College, the Statesboro First Methodist Church, and other local organizations. Examples of Remley’s artwork and framed prints are included as well as materials originally belonging to Georgia B. Watson.