Special Collections & Archival Research - HIST 4531 - World War I - Library Guides at Georgia Southern University

Browse Henderson Library Finding Aids

A Finding Aid contains a listing of the collection's contents and their location within Special Collections.

View Finding Aid Collection

American Legion Auxiliary. Dexter Allen Unit No. 90 records

Search Henderson Library Special Collections

Most Special Collections items (including books, maps, ephemera, photographs, and manuscript collections) are described in the Library Catalog. The catalog provides summary descriptions of holdings, many of which are more fully described in separate finding aids.

Once you have identified items that you wish to view, please Schedule a Research Appointment using the online form embedded into the record. Need help? Contact Special Collections directly!

Statesboro-Bulloch County Library

Public History Files Master Index
A contents listing of all currently digitized folders in the Public History Files located at the Statesboro-Bulloch County Library.

Statesboro-Bulloch County Library: Genealogy Room
Fold3 by Ancestry Access may be available at Statesboro-Bulloch County Library. Fold3 is a subscription-based genealogy and historical records website owned by Ancestry. It specializes in providing access to military records, with a focus on documents related to the United States military history.
HeritageQuest HeritageQuest Online is a genealogy research database provided by ProQuest. Access may be available at Statesboro-Bulloch County Library

Other Local Archives and Libraries

Georgia Southern University Special Collections Lane Library’s special collections includes the university archives of the Armstrong Campus and the Florence Powell Minis Room Collection. The university archives documents Armstrong’s history and served as a resource for Janet Stone’s scholarly history, From the Mansion to the University: A History of Armstrong Atlantic State University 1935-2010. Endowed by the Minis family of Savannah, the Minis Room houses books about Savannah and the Coastal region, including works by Savannah authors. The Special Collection are open for research by appointment and we are always happy to introduce students to these collections, which include Alumni donations and feature student work. The online guide to the Special Collections is a good starting point, with links to digitized collections, such as The ‘Geechee yearbook (1937-1995), The Inkwell, Armstrong’s student newspaper and more. Also, contact the special collections librarian to arrange a visit to the Special Collections, for research or a class. See Special Collections at the Lane Library (Armstrong Campus) The Zach S. Henderson Library’s Special Collections was founded in the 1970’s. Housed within the department are rare books, manuscript collections, and artifacts relating to the history of the Statesboro region and Georgia Southern University. Special Collections has materials documenting the Civil War, World War II, southern railroads, early businesses, and local genealogy. Popular collections include: the Okefenokee Swamp Collection, the Bulloch County Historical Society Collection, and the Lucile Hodges Collection. Also available for research are the Marvin S. Pittman Collection and the Charles Holmes Herty Collection, to name only a few. See Special Collections at the Henderson Library (Statesboro Campus)
Catholic Diocese of Savannah: Archives & Records Department The mission of the Archives & Records Department is to administer the Archives & Records program which manages records created by the Diocese of Savannah; to serve as the institutional repository for records of historical and enduring value; and to promote an understanding of the Catholic Church, her history, and her heritage in South Georgia. The department is erected in accordance with Canon 482.
City of Savannah: Municipal Archives & Records Management The Municipal Archives & Records Management division: Collects, manages preserves and makes accessible records documenting the City of Savannah's history Administers the records management program and the City Records Center to increase the efficiency of City agencies Shares the City's history with City employees, citizens and visitors through outreach activities
Georgia Archives
Georgia Historical Society As a non-university research and educational institution, the Georgia Historical Society has collected, preserved, and shared some of the most important documents, rare books, maps, photographs, and artifacts that tell the story of our state’s journey through time. The cornerstones of the collection are Hodgson Hall, the National Historic Landmark building that serves as the GHS Research Center, and the impressive group of manuscripts, rare books, and archival materials housed in the adjacent Abrahams Archival Annex. The collection includes more than 4 million manuscripts, 100,000 photographs, 30,000 architectural drawings, 15,000 books, and thousands of maps, newspapers, portraits, and artifacts. The papers of many influential Georgians, including Griffin Bell, Vince Dooley, Benjamin Hawkins, Helen Dortch Longstreet, Juliette Gordon Low, and Bernie Marcus, are held in the society’s collections. Perhaps the most significant document in the collection is an original draft copy of the U.S. Constitution that belonged to Abraham Baldwin, a Georgia delegate to the national constitutional convention of 1787.
Statesboro-Bulloch County Library

About Special Collections

Library Collections & Databases

Ancestry Library Edition
Archibald Bulloch Chapter (DAR) publications
Bulloch County Historical Newspapers collection
Digital Library of Georgia
Georgia Historic Newspapers
Boss, B. E. (1921). The Georgia State Memorial Book. American Memorial Pub. Co.
Physical copy available via Special Collections

Georgia Participation

Veteran Records

Official Military Personnel Files (OMPFF) for the General Public (NRA)
Veterans History Project (LOC) Includes correspondence, personal narratives, and visual materials.
Records of the Veterans Administration (VA/NARA) Guide to the National Archives holdings of Veterans Administration records covering the years 1773-1985.
Veterans' Service Resources (NARA) Links to request military service records, research military records, replace lost medals and awards, locate veterans and service members, and browse WWII photos.
World War I Records (NARA)
Request Military Service Records (NARA) Note: Records of individuals who left service less than 62 years ago are subject to access restrictions.

HIST 4531 - World War I: Special Collections & Archival Research