Georgia History
Information resources
Librarian
Caroline Hopkinson
Contact:
Georgia Southern University Libraries--Lane Library
Savannah, GA 31419-1997 chopkinson@georgiasouthern.edu
Savannah, GA 31419-1997 chopkinson@georgiasouthern.edu
912-344-3019
Getting Started/Topic Finding
Know that the topic will evolve as you read, research. Go-to sources for Georgia history, to search or browse.
- New Georgia EncyclopediaArticles on Georgia places, people, events.
- Digital Library of GeorgiaGathering of digitized collections from libraries and historical societies around the state
Cornerstones of Georgia History by Call Number: E-BookPublication Date: 2011This collection of fifty-nine primary documents presents multiple viewpoints on more than four centuries of growth, conflict, and change in Georgia.
Delving Deeper into a Topic --Secondary sources
Keep in mind that you can focus, broaden your topic, based on your research findings. Try these search engines
- GIL-Find (Catalog) This link opens in a new windowBooks in the library: Ebooks, print books, limit by location
- History Reference Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSearch articles time period limits available
Ideas for developing keywords for history searching:
- Searching dates, even 1776, doesn't work with these search engines. Instead try words that describe the period: colonial, antebellum, reconstruction, depression, civil rights, etc. Search by time period is available in databases History Reference Source
- Brainstorm specific keywords. Searching: women colonial Savannah? also search "Mary Musgrove" Interested in foodways during Depression era rural Georgia? also search cornbread!
- Discuss your topic with friends, classmates, your professor, a librarian. Articulate your ideas, get other's input and enhance your searches.
Getting primary
Finding primary sources is challenging. Some ideas:
- Ask questions, imagine where you might find the answers. What was life like for women in colonial Georgia? Imagine a person from the time who could answer your question. How might their voice have been recorded? What documents, pictures, objects speak for them?
- Check the footnotes and bibliographies of secondary sources on your topic. Need help sorting the citations and deciding if they are available? Your professor and/or a librarian can help.
- Scan the many collections listed below and on the primary source tab. Some of these online collections are keyword searchable. Some are more like exhibits, browse to see what is available.
- Georgia Historic Newspapers Archive This link opens in a new windowGeorgia historical newspapers (more...).
- Digital Library of Georgia This link opens in a new windowFocus is on primary sources from Georgia archives
- Georgia State's Digital Collections part of the University LibraryBrowse digital Collections about Women, Georgia government, Southern labor, Music/Johnny Mercer, LBGTQ, Eastern Airlines, photographs, broadcasts and more!
- Civil Rights Digital Library This link opens in a new windowAmerican Civil Rights Movement; images; movies; articles (more...).
- Digital Commons@Georgia Southern This link opens in a new windowArticles, post-prints, pre-prints, conference proceedings, institutional documents, etc., some peer-reviewed (more...).