Skip to Main Content

Making Data Bearable

Dealing with Data in Every Thing
Head shot of Colleen EvansColleen Evans, Collections Manager Institute for Coastal Plains Science

Colleen received her MS in Biology at the University of North Texas. For much of her graduate student career, she  focused on developing digitization workflows and management strategies for the natural history collections at UNT. As the Collections Manager at Georgia Southern, she is responsible for all of the collections associated with the Institute for  Coastal Plain Science including the U.S. National Tick Collection. Her main interests include collection digitization and   biodiversity informatics.
Dr. John Schenk: Assistant Professor (Biology), Curator Herbarium

Evolution is a process that has led to a remarkable amount of species diversity and morphological forms that fit into numerous ecological niches. Our lab group is interested in how botanical diversity has been shaped by the interactions among morphological, ecological, and species diversification. Research in my lab applies statistical phylogenetic approaches that quantify and incorporate molecular, morphological, and ecological variation to plant systems in order to understand the evolutionary processes of how and why species diversify.

 
   Andrea Appleton, Biology Student

  Andrea is a second year biology student with an appreciation of botany and natural history; both our living and dead records of the world around us. Her passion for plants began just over a year ago with involvement in the Natural History Collections Club and a job in the Georgia Southern Herbarium, where she has been able to observe the remarkable amount of biodiversity that occurs in plants how it can be documented and shared. She is pursuing a career in systematic botany to continue this admiration of plants professionally and help keep the world of natural history alive. 
 Dr. Lance MacBrayer, Professor & Curator of Herpetology Collection

My research interests lie in organismal ecology which encompasses behavior, functional morphology, and evolution.  I  primarily use lizards as a model system and have done studies on feeding behavior, foraging ecology, and locomotion in a  variety of species. Central to my research is the study of organismal performance, or how well organisms perform  ecologically important tasks like biting, jumping, or sprinting.  I am also the curator of our herpetology collection (~36,000  specimens).  This collection provides a rich source of natural history data for this region. If interested, feel free to contact  me or visit my home page for more information.

 

Slide Presentation