HIST 5340 - Age of Napoleon: Find Articles

ILLiad is the system used to manage Interlibrary loan requests.

New Georgia Southern users must create an ILLiad account.  Once you have an account, use ILLIad to:

• submit new requests

• track status of requests

• view electronically received articles

• submit requests for renewals

Scholarly (peer-reviewed) resources undergo review by experts in a field of study, who determine that the articles are objective and credible before they are published. Examples of peer-reviewed resources include articles in academic journals, collections of essays or anthologies. 

Non-scholarly resources are published without review by experts. Non-scholarly resources range from a variety of types, such as websites and magazines, to newspapers and books. If you plan to use non-scholarly materials, ask your instructor beforehand, and use the CRAAP Test.

Looking for more? Try the A-Z Database List.

In the Humanities, scholars are often making logical arguments based on the evidence they have. Historians, for instance, might derive fresh insights by analyzing primary source documents from their specific study era. Humanities scholarly articles often contain the subsequent sections, although not always. When included, these sections might not be distinctly labeled.

• Abstract - Concise overview of the article is usually included, though not always
• Introduction - Typically more extensive. The Introduction provides comprehensive background details about the topic under study. It often contains the thesis, which might not be restricted to a single sentence. May also include a Literature Review.
• Discussion/ Conclusion - The discussion typically spans the entirety of the article without a distinct section. In Humanities articles, the conclusion might not have the same clear structure as in scientific papers.
• Works Cited/ Bibliography - List of resources used by the author(s).

Thoral, Marie-Cecile. “The Limits of Napoleonic Centralization: Notables and Local Government in the Department of the Isere from the Consulate to the Beginning of the July Monarchy.” French History 19, no. 4 (December 2005): 463–81. doi:10.1093/fh/cri048.

Think of the best keywords to enter and be ready to change them as you pursue your topic. Try using a subject encyclopedia or dictionary for specialized terminology. Get ideas for new keywords by carefully examining the subject fields in your first results.

Try these search features:

• Use quotes to search for phrases (example: "industrial revolution”)
  
  
• Use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to broaden or narrow your search
  
  
• Use truncation (example: archiv* will find archive, archives, archival, archivist)
  
  
• Sort results by date or relevance
  
  
• Browse subject headings