ARTH 4091 - Topics in Renaissance Art: Find Articles

Access resources from off-campus using your MyGeorgiaSouthern username and password.

Scholarly (peer-reviewed) resources undergo review by experts in a field of study, who determine that the articles are objective and credible before they are published. Examples of peer-reviewed resources include articles in academic journals, collections of essays or anthologies. 

Non-scholarly resources are published without review by experts. Non-scholarly resources range from a variety of types, such as websites and magazines, to newspapers and books. If you plan to use non-scholarly materials, ask your instructor beforehand, and use the CRAAP Test.

Often an assignment will call for Journal Articles, or your professor will state, "I want to see some scholarly/peer reviewed articles in your bibliography." Journals, in particular Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Journals, are where you can find published research. This information is generally more current than books, because each Journal is published multiple times a year as a separate issue.  You can find Journal Articles by searching from the library's home page, or on this guide using the DISCOVER search box. 

Be sure you check the Scholarly (peer reviewed) Journals box to limit your results to the appropriate resources. Check the Full-Text box to limit your results to available items

Complete list of Art Databases.

Think of the best keywords to enter and be ready to change them as you pursue your topic. Try using a subject encyclopedia or dictionary for specialized terminology. Get ideas for new keywords by carefully examining the subject fields in your first results.

Try these search features:

• Use quotes to search for phrases (example: "industrial revolution”)
  
  
• Use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to broaden or narrow your search
  
  
• Use truncation (example: archiv* will find archive, archives, archival, archivist)
  
  
• Sort results by date or relevance
  
  
• Browse subject headings