EDUC 2120-Exploring Socio-Cultural Perspectives on Diversity in Educational Contexts: Find Print and Electronic Books

• We Need Diverse Books

  A nonprofit organization created to promote diversity of multiple forms in children's literature and publishing.

• Diverse Book Finder

  A searchable collection of more than 2,000 picture books featuring people of color and indigenous people.

• Reading Diversity: A Tool for Selecting Diverse Texts

  Learning for Justice. (2016). "Reading Diversity: A Tool for Selecting Diverse Texts." https://www.learningforjustice.org/magazine/publications/reading-diversity

• Children's Book Council Diversity Initiative

• The Brown Bookshelf

  A blog “designed to push awareness of the myriad of African American voices writing for young readers." Their 28 Days Later initiative highlights a different African American author or illustrator during the 28 days of Black History Month.

• Rich In Color

  A blog "dedicated to reading, reviewing, talking about, and otherwise promoting young adult books (fiction and non-fiction) starring or written by BIPOC."

• Latinxs In KidLit

  Reviews and discusses Latinx YA, MG, and children’s literature.

• Directory of Asian Kidlit Authors

  A directoy of Asian kidlit authors, compiled by the Asian Author Alliance.

• YA Pride

  A website and blog dedicated to LGBTQ+ representation in YA literature. Includes a masterlist of LGBTQ+ books.

• Disability in KidLit

  Discusses and reviews portrayals of disability in YA, middle grade, and children's literature. NOTE: The blog stopped updating around 2017, but still contains a lot of excellent resources and recommendations!

• A Mighty Girl

  Features searchable book lists, including multicultural fiction, personal development, and social issues.

• Black Lives Matter Instructional Library

  A collection of read-alouds of children's books about activism and advocacy, self-love and empowerment, and Black history, as well as a collection of books in Spanish.

Once you find a book in the GIL Find catalog, use the Call number and the Location information to find the book on the shelf.  Call numbers are read alphabetically and then nurmerically.

The short video below walks you through the process!