Communication Arts

The Georgia Southern University Libraries provide you with the following primary sources in the field of communication arts:

• Academic Search Complete  is a multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals.
• Academic Search Complete  is a multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals.
• Communication & Mass Media Complete  provides access to quality research journals and publications in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. CMMC offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for more than 460 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 660 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for 350 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable cited references from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915). CMMC contains a sophisticated Communication Thesaurus and comprehensive reference browsing (i.e. searchable cited references for peer-reviewed journals covered as "core"). In addition, CMMC features over 5,000 Author Profiles, providing biographical data and bibliographic information, and covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched for authors in the database.
• Global Breaking Newswires (ProQuest) is the premier library news product providing timely access to the best newswire content available from around the globe for the modern researcher as well as growing archive of news indexed and accessible through the familiar & popular research functionality of the ProQuest platform.
• New York Times Online: The library provides access to the full contents of the New York Times Online. By setting up a personal account, all students, faculty, and staff can access New York Times articles from the beginning of the newspaper’s publication to the current day. In addition, you may register for complimentary access to the New York Times inEducation, an instructional design website for educators.
  After setting up your personal account, occasionally you will need to renew your account to maintain free access to the New York Times Online. You may not know when your personal account will expire; however, if you suddenly are unable to open NYT articles while logged into your account, then it's time to renew. For additional help, see the New York Times' support page. 

  NOTE: Currently, creation and renewal of New York Times accounts is unavailable for off-campus users.

• News & Newspapers features articles from over 2,000 national and international newspapers. For a complete list of titles, See here.
• Newspaper Source Plus provides cover-to-cover full text for 35 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), The Toronto Star, etc. Newspaper Source Plus includes 1200 full-text newspapers (over 800 more than the basic Newspaper Source), over 40 news magazines, and over 130 news wires.
• ProQuest Central brings together 30 highly used ProQuest databases to create the largest single academic research resource. Researchers can choose to search individual databases for targeted research or search all at once to find relevant results and information from other disciplines. This allows cross-searching with other ProQuest business resources as well as creation of RSS feeds, content alerts, Smart Search, article linking, and much more.
• Social Science Database (ProQuest) is a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of scientific journals. The database includes over 570 titles, with more than 340 available in full text. ProQuest Social Science Journals provides information on hundreds of topics, including full-text contents in the field of Communication. 
• Telecommunications Database (ProQuest) is an essential resource for anyone researching the industry or its technology. The database includes over 140 titles, with more than 115 available in full text. For the latest news on WAP technology, following market penetration of new technologies, or gathering information about the key players in this field, ProQuest Telecommunications helps you stay one step ahead. Because of continually shifting business conditions and the ever-expanding reach of the wireless, Internet, and long-distance industries, telecommunications increasingly have become part of our lives. The database covers all the changes including: (1) computer applications,; (2) Data communication and data transmission system; (3) Electronic data processing; (4) Information science and information theory; and (5) Radio and Television
• U.S. Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.