ENGL 1101 - Professor Litchfield - Fall 2024
A note to students:
Need more AI tools? Check out TAAFT
The website There's an AI for That (TAAFT) provides a searchable interface where you can find AI tools pertaining to a given topic or task. For instance, you can search "academic research."
Not all AIs are the same: Getting to know your options
While AI has changed how librarians approach information literacy, the ethos of our teaching remains the same in that we teach people how to evaluate an information source. In this AI revolution, librarians are teaching faculty, staff, and students how to evaluate an AI regarding an information need. Please feel free to browse this list to understand more about various AI tools and how you might use them in your classroom.
Common AI Chatbots
| Chatbot Name | Free Version Large Language Model | Description* | Information Date Limitation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chat GPT | GPT 3.5 (Open AI) | The free version of ChatGPT is an AI-powered chatbot created by OpenAI that offers users access to the GPT-3.5 model without any cost. It provides assistance with various tasks such as answering questions, generating text, and engaging in conversations | Cutoff date of September 2021 |
| Hugging Chat | LLama-2 (Meta) | Hugging Chat is a free AI-powered chatbot that uses advanced language models to assist with a wide range of tasks, from answering questions to generating text and code. It offers users access to multiple AI models and can provide real-time information through its web search capability. Hugging Chat is designed to be user-friendly and privacy-focused, making it a valuable resource for various academic and creative pursuits. | Cutoff date of September 2022 |
| Perplexity | Uses its own search and indexing infrastructure to provide responses. | Perplexity AI is an AI-powered conversational search engine that provides concise answers to user queries by leveraging large language models and real-time web searches. It aims to make knowledge more accessible by offering targeted information with inline citations, reducing the need to sift through numerous search results. | Can pull current information |
| Copilot | GPT-4 Turbo (Open AI) | Microsoft Copilot is a free AI assistant that helps users find information and create content using advanced language models. It includes conversational search, text generation, image creation, and document summarization features. | April 2023 |
| Gemini | Gemini 1.5 (Google) | The free version of Google Gemini provides access to the base Gemini 1.5 model, which uses a Mixture-of-Experts architecture. This free tier allows users to leverage Gemini's natural language, generation, and multimodal capabilities. While limited compared to premium Gemini models, the free version offers powerful AI assistance to a wide audience. | November 2023 |
| DuckDuckGO | User-Selected | DuckDuckGo's AI feature, DuckAssist, provides concise, natural language summaries in response to user queries, primarily sourcing information from Wikipedia and Britannica. Utilizing advanced natural language technology from OpenAI and Anthropic, it delivers relevant answers without collecting personal data. DuckAssist is currently in beta and can be accessed for free, with the option to disable it in search settings. | Various |
*Descriptions written with the help of Perplexity
**Language models and information dates accurate as of July 18th, 2024, though subject to change quickly
Study, Research, and Learning AIs
| Name: | Description |
| Magic School | Magic School AI offers educators a suite of AI-powered tools to assist with lesson planning, content creation, and student support. The free version provides access to over 50 AI tools, including lesson plan generators, rubric creators, and assessment builders. While it has a premium version, the free tier allows educators to explore and utilize many of its features to save time and enhance their teaching process |
| Research Rabbit | Research Rabbit is an AI-powered literature discovery tool that helps researchers find relevant academic papers based on their interests. The free version allows users to create collections, visualize research landscapes, and receive personalized paper recommendations. It also offers collaboration features and integration with reference management tools. |
| Elicit | Elicit is an AI research assistant that helps users find and summarize relevant academic literature. The free version allows users to ask research questions and receive summaries of relevant papers, along with key findings and methodologies. It also provides features for comparing studies and generating literature reviews. |
| Concensus | Consensus is an AI-powered search engine for scientific literature that aims to provide quick, accurate answers to research questions. The free version allows users to search for scientific claims and view relevant excerpts from papers, along with confidence scores. It also offers features for exploring related questions and topics. |
| Scholarcy | Scholarcy is an AI tool that automatically summarizes and analyzes research papers. The free version allows users to upload papers and receive key insights, including main findings, methodologies, and bibliographic information. It also provides features for creating flashcards and extracting references. |
AI Image Generators
| Name | Description |
|---|---|
| Canva | Provides a free AI image generator as part of its design platform, allowing users to create images without watermarks or costs after signing up for a free account. |
| Craiyon | A straightforward and completely free tool that allows unlimited prompts, making it accessible for casual users. |
| DeepAI | Offers a free AI image generation service without the need for an account, allowing for quick image creation. |
| Playground AI |
Offers a user-friendly interface with access to various models, allowing free image generation without a subscription. |
Copyright Considerations for AI Image Generators:
When using AI image generators, it's important to be aware of copyright issues. While many platforms allow users to create images freely, the generated content may still be subject to copyright claims, especially if it closely resembles existing works. Always check the terms of service for each generator and consider the potential implications of using AI-generated images for commercial purposes or public distribution.